This is the "Home" page of the "Zoology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Zoology  

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/zoology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Library

Cover Art
World of Wonders - Elisabeth Roman (As told to); Angela Dominguez (Illustrator)
Call Number: 508 ROM
ISBN: 9780810989634
Publication Date: 2010-12-01
A collection of photographs profiling some of the world's most amazing animals and natural occurrences.

Cover Art
Smithsonian Institution Animal - David Burnie; Don E. Wilson (Editor)
Call Number: 590 Ani
ISBN: 0789477645
Publication Date: 2001-10-10
Presents photographs and profiles of over two thousand individual species of world animals, each with a location map and information on size, social unit, and status; and features a general introduction to animals and their habitats.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Animals - George McKay; Karen McGhee
Call Number: 590 McG
ISBN: 9780792259367
Publication Date: 2006-10-10
Presents a full-color illustrated encyclopedia of over one thousand species of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, and invertebrates and includes detailed diagrams, distribution maps, and classification information.

Cover Art
The Puzzle of the Platypus - Jack Myers; John Rice (Illustrator)
Call Number: 590 Mye
ISBN: 9781590785560
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Scientists attempt to solve eleven of nature's most interesting puzzles including finding polar bear dens, teaching dolphins games in order to study sonar, and the strange characteristics of the platypus.

Cover Art
A Naturalist and Other Beasts - George B. Schaller
Call Number: 590 SCH
ISBN: 1578051703
Publication Date: 2010-05-04
A collection of nineteen short writings by field biologist Geoge Schaller that describe the unique people, animals, and places he has encountered in his work.

Cover Art
Amazing Animal Facts - Jacqui Bailey; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 590 Bai
ISBN: 0789498707
Publication Date: 2003-10-06
Provides answers to questions about mammals, birds, reptiles and amphibians, insects, and fish, and includes additional facts, statistics, and color photographs.

Cover Art
The Kingfisher Illustrated Animal Encyclopedia - David Burnie
Call Number: 590 Bur
ISBN: 0753452839
Publication Date: 2000-09-15
An illustrated encyclopedia describing the physical characteristics, behavior, and habitats of a variety of animals.

Cover Art
Fifty Animals That Changed the Course of History - Eric Chaline
Call Number: 590 CHA
ISBN: 1554078970
Publication Date: 2011-08-11
Discusses the influence of fifty different animal species on the medical, edible, commercial, and practical aspects of human civilization.

Cover Art
The Animal Dialogues - Craig Childs
Call Number: 590 Chi
ISBN: 9780316066327
Publication Date: 2007-12-12
A collection of forty brief narratives that focuses on the author's own encounters with various wild animals and provides data on each species' behavior, habitat, breeding, and lifespan.

Cover Art
Headless Males Make Great Lovers - Marty Crump; Alan Crump (Illustrator)
Call Number: 590 Cru
ISBN: 0226121992
Publication Date: 2005-10-15
A collection of essays discussing the unique behaviors of animals and insects as they mate, parent, feed, defend themselves, and communicate.

Cover Art
The Encyclopedia of Animals - George McKay (Editor); Fred Cooke; Stephen Hutchinson
Call Number: 590 Enc
ISBN: 0520244060
Publication Date: 2004-11-03
Presents a full-color illustrated encyclopedia of over two thousand species of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, and invertebrates and includes detailed diagrams, distribution maps, and classification information.

Cover Art
Smithsonian Super Nature Encyclopedia - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 590 HAR
ISBN: 075669793X
Publication Date: 2012-09-17
Introduces one hundred animals, including mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fish, and invertebrates, and addresses anatomy, senses, and animal lifestyles.

Cover Art
Untamed - Christian Havard; Emmanuelle Zicot (Illustrator); Steve Bloom (Photographer)
Call Number: 590 Hav
ISBN: 0810959569
Publication Date: 2005-10-19
A photographic exploration of wild animals around the world, providing information about how they get around, find mates, raise their young, play, sleep, eat, and deal with rivals, and includes a look at endangered species.

Cover Art
Unlikely Friendships - Jennifer S. Holland
Call Number: 590 HOL
ISBN: 9780761159131
Publication Date: 2011-06-21
A collection of true stories about unlikely friendships between animals of different species, describing how the animals bonded and thrived in unique circumstances.

Cover Art
Wild Animals in Captivity - Rob Laidlaw
Call Number: 590 LAI
ISBN: 9781554550258
Publication Date: 2008-05-26
A look at how zoo life affects the health and behavior of wild animals, including elephants, polar bears, whales, and apes.

Cover Art
The Animal Review - Jake Lentz; Steve Nash; Jacob Lentz
Call Number: 590 LEN
ISBN: 1608190250
Publication Date: 2010-03-30
The authors discuss and grade various species of animals and insects, providing photographs and humorous assessments of pandas, garden snails, pigeons, sea cucumbers, peacocks, ladybugs, and more.

Cover Art
National Geographic Encyclopedia of Animals - George McKay; Karen McGhee
Call Number: 590 McG
ISBN: 9780792259374
Publication Date: 2006-10-10
Presents a full-color illustrated encyclopedia of over one thousand species of mammals, birds, reptiles, amphibians, fishes, and invertebrates and includes detailed diagrams, distribution maps, and classification information.

Cover Art
One Kingdom - Deborah Noyes
Call Number: 590 Noy
ISBN: 9780618499144
Publication Date: 2006-08-07
Explores how myth, history, and culture have influenced the lives of the people who live with and around them.

Cover Art
Animal Giants - Barbara Taylor; Andrew Revkin; Kathryn S. Fuller (Foreword by)
Call Number: 590 Tay
ISBN: 9780753461570
Publication Date: 2007-11-15
Full-color photographs and illustrations provide information on some of the world's largest animals, including prehistoric creatures, whale sharks, and giant insects.

Cover Art
Animal Secrets - Deborah Underwood
Call Number: 590 Und
ISBN: 9781410928405
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
A discussion of animal life processes, looking at the ways in which all animals are alike, discussing their ability and need to sense the world around them, eat, breathe, eliminate waste, move, have babies, and grow. Includes a glossary.

Cover Art
Zoos and Animal Welfare - Christine Van Tuyl
Call Number: 590 ZOO
ISBN: 9780737738186
Publication Date: 2007-12-13
Contains fourteen essays that offer varying perspectives on issues related to zoo and animal welfare, discussing if animals suffer in captivity, whether or not elephants are thriving in zoos, the role of zoos in education, and other topics; and provides contact information for organizations and a bibliography.

Cover Art
Babylon's Ark - Lawrence Anthony; Graham Spence
Call Number: 590.73 Ant
ISBN: 9780312358327
Publication Date: 2007-03-06
Chronicles the history of the Baghdad Zoo from the coalition's invasion of Iraq in 2003 through 2006, addressing how the attack had destroyed the grounds and killed many animals and discussing how the efforts of zoo personnel, American soldiers, and conservationist Anthony Lawrence helped reestablish the park.

Cover Art
Saving the Baghdad Zoo - Kelly Milner Halls; William Sumner (Illustrator)
Call Number: 590.73 HAL
ISBN: 9780061772023
Publication Date: 2010-02-09
A photo-illustrated firsthand account of how United States soldiers and volunteers saved the animals of the Baghdad Zoo after the start of the Iraq War.

Cover Art
Life at the Zoo - Phillip T. Robinson
Call Number: 590.73 ROB
ISBN: 0231132484
Publication Date: 2004-08-18
Based on 15 years of work at the world-famous San Diego Zoo, this charming book is an eminent zoo veterinarians personal account of the challenges, hazards, and rewards of running a modern zoo.

Cover Art
Wild Lives - Wildlife Conservation Society (Illustrator); Kathleen Weidner Zoehfeld
Call Number: 590.73747 Zoe
ISBN: 9780375906305
Publication Date: 2006-03-14
Examines the over 100-year history of the Bronx Zoo and the ways in which zookeepers have improved the conditions and care for a variety of wild animals living there.

Cover Art
Jane Goodall - Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen
Call Number: 590.92 Goo
ISBN: 9780670062638
Publication Date: 2008-07-03
Biography of Jane Goodall who at age twenty-six started a six-month project at the Gombe Stream Chimpanzee Reserve on Lake Tanganyika, Africa which became her life's work.

Cover Art
Jane Goodall - Brenda Haugen (Illustrator)
Call Number: 590.92 Goo
ISBN: 9780756515904
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
A biography of primatologist Jane Goodall describing her childhood in England, education and early interest in conservation, and extensive research with chimpanzees.

Cover Art
Jane Goodall - Dale Peterson
Call Number: 590.92 GOO
ISBN: 9780395854051
Publication Date: 2006-11-15
Chronicles the life of English primatologist Jane Goodall, discussing her work with chimpanzees in Tanzania and her significance in scientific history.

Cover Art
Creatures of Accident - Wallace Arthur
Call Number: 591.3 Art
ISBN: 9780809043217
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Explores how complex, advanced creatures arose from simple, primitive ones and examines prevalent theories from evolutionary developmental biology related to the advancement of the animal kingdom.

Cover Art
Genetics in the Wild - John C. Avise
Call Number: 591.3 Avi
ISBN: 1588340694
Publication Date: 2002-08-17
Explains how scientists directly examine DNA to address long-standing questions about wild animals, plants, and microbes.

Cover Art
Tears of the Cheetah - Stephen J. O'Brien; Stephen J. O'brien; S. O'brien
Call Number: 591.3 OBr
ISBN: 0312272863
Publication Date: 2003-09-25
Medical geneticist and conservationist Stephen J. O'Brien narrates a series of science adventure stories that explore the mysteries of survival among the earth's most endangered species.

Cover Art
Baby Animals - Paul Sterry
Call Number: 591.3 STE
ISBN: 1597643467
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
A photographic introduction to the lives of baby animals, including birds, reptiles, mammals, insects, and others, with information about their birth, early care, feeding and growth, parental instruction, and other topics.

Cover Art
Pleasurable Kingdom - Jonathan Balcombe
Call Number: 591.5 Bal
ISBN: 1403986010
Publication Date: 2006-05-02
Examines scientific and evolutionary evidence to argue that animals, like humans, have evolved enough to focus on enjoyment as much as survival.

Cover Art
The Emotional Lives of Animals - Marc Bekoff; Jane Goodall (Foreword by)
Call Number: 591.5 Bek
ISBN: 9781577315025
Publication Date: 2007-02-09
Presents biological research to support the existence of animal emotions and why it is important to rethinking the human relationship to animals and how animals are treated.

Cover Art
The Smartest Animals on the Planet - Sally Boysen; Deborah Custance
Call Number: 591.5 BOY
ISBN: 9781554074563
Publication Date: 2009-02-20
Examines animal intelligence, and discusses the mental capabilities of birds, mammals, insects, and amphibians; and includes illustrations from field research and research experiments in captivity.

Cover Art
Why Pandas Do Handstands - Augustus Brown
Call Number: 591.5 Bro
ISBN: 9781416531906
Publication Date: 2006-11-14
Presents and discusses little-known facts about various kinds of animals, covering such topics as communication, food, mating, parenting, survival, social behavior, instinct, and intelligence.

Cover Art
Animal Architects - Carol Grant Gould; James L. Gould
Call Number: 591.5 Gou
ISBN: 9780465027828
Publication Date: 2007-03-13
Presents a comprehensive understanding of animal behavior and archietecture through the structures that they build.

Cover Art
Animals in Translation - Temple Grandin; Catherine Johnson
Call Number: 591.5 Gra
ISBN: 0743247698
Publication Date: 2004-12-28
The author presents a study of animal behavior and maintains that animals resemble autistic people in that they think visually rather than linguistically.

Cover Art
On Aggression - Konrad Lorenz; Marjorie K. Wilson (Translator); Konrad Lorenz
Call Number: 591.5 Lor
ISBN: 0156687410
Publication Date: 1974-10-23
Presents findings on the mechanism of aggression and the means by which animals control destructive drives in the interest of the species.

Cover Art
Watching - Desmond Morris
Call Number: 591.5 M
ISBN: 9781904435549
Publication Date: 2007-09-28
Zoologist, natural historian, and animal and human behaviorist Desmond Morris tells his life story, discussing his early interest in and care of animals, his years with the London Zoo, his marriage, the television show "Zootime," his book "The Naked Ape," and other topics.

Cover Art
Becoming a Tiger - Susan McCarthy
Call Number: 591.5 McC
ISBN: 9780060934842
Publication Date: 2005-08-09
A comprehensive scientific study to illustrate the ways in which animals figure out how to function in the world.

Cover Art
Bats Sing, Mice Giggle - Karen Shanor; Jagmeet Kanwal
Call Number: 591.51 SHA
ISBN: 9781848311978
Publication Date: 2010-08-17
Explains the unexpected behaviors and abilities of animals, describing how and why bats sing, mice giggle, ants play, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Animal Talk - Jane Goodall (Foreword by); Tim Friend
Call Number: 591.59 Fri
ISBN: 0743201574
Publication Date: 2004-01-08
Presents a study of animal communication, discussing the origins and purpose of communication among animals, and considering the ways in which it is similar to human language.

Cover Art
100 Animals to See Before They Die - Nick Garbutt; Mike Unwin (As told to)
Call Number: 591.68 Gar
ISBN: 9781841622361
Publication Date: 2007-12-01
Profiles one hundred of the world's most endangered mammals, describing their behaviors, habitats, and physical characteristics and discussing the threats they face as well as efforts to protect them.

Cover Art
The Smaller Majority - Piotr Naskrecki
Call Number: 591.7 Nas
ISBN: 0674019156
Publication Date: 2005-10-15
Photographs and text profile the ninety-nine percent of animal life that are smaller than a human finger, and explains their critical role in the biodiversity of the tropics and life on earth.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip