This is the "Home" page of the "Plant Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Plant Biology  

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/plantbiology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Library

Cover Art
Plants on the Trail with Lewis and Clark - Dorothy Hinshaw Patent; William Muñoz (Photographer)
Call Number: 581.978 Pat
ISBN: 0618067760
Publication Date: 2003-03-24
Describes the journey of Lewis and Clark through the western United States, focusing on the plants they cataloged, their uses for food and medicine, and the plant lore of Native American people.

Cover Art
Flowers - William C. Burger
Call Number: 582.13 Bur
ISBN: 1591024072
Publication Date: 2006-05-02
The author describes the essential role that flowers play in the environment and their importance to the survival of both animals and humans.

Cover Art
Plant Secrets - Anna Claybourne
Call Number: 580 Cla
ISBN: 9781410919342
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Examines the ways in which certain plants live and grow including the biggest flower in the world, squirting cucumbers, redwood trees, and more.

Cover Art
Green Inheritance - Anthony Julian Huxley; Martin Walters; David Attenborough (Foreword by)
Call Number: 580 Hux
ISBN: 0520243595
Publication Date: 2006-02-08
Photographs, maps, illustrations, and text explore the role plants play in the global environment and in different cultures, describing how plants are used for food, fuel, medicine, objects of beauty, and more.

Cover Art
Disgusting Plants - Connie Colwell Miller; Capstone Press Staff
Call Number: 580 Mil
ISBN: 9780736868020
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Describes 10 disgusting plants and what makes them gross.

Cover Art
Green Plants - Sally Morgan
Call Number: 580 Mor
ISBN: 9781403475220
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Describes the various aspects of plant biology; the structure of leaves, stems, and roots; processes of photosynthesis, pollination, and transpiration; and genetically modified crops.

Cover Art
Plants and Fungi - Robert Snedden
Call Number: 580 Sne
ISBN: 9781432900403
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Looks at cells as life's building blocks, focusing on plants and fungi, examining the typical structure of plant cells and how they differ from those of fungi and animals, and discussing cell specialization.

Cover Art
Plant - David Burnie
Call Number: 581 Bur
ISBN: 9780756619541
Publication Date: 2006-07-03
A collection of full-color 3-D models, maps, fact boxes, and photographs that describe the world of plants including the germination of seeds, plant defenses, and uses of plants.

Cover Art
The Bizarre and Incredible World of Plants - Wolfgang Stuppy; Robert Kesseler; Madeline Harfley
Call Number: 581.4 STU
ISBN: 9781554075331
Publication Date: 2009-09-17
Investigates the mechanics of plant reproduction, featuring color images of various pollen, seeds, and fruits made with a special light and scanning electron microscopy, including cross-sections that reveal the interiors of flowers; and discusses the botanical purposes of pollen, seeds, and fruits, and how they fulfill their roles.

Cover Art
Smithsonian Handbooks Herbs - Lesley Bremness
Call Number: 581.6 Bre
ISBN: 0789493918
Publication Date: 2002-02-06
A guide to identifying herbs that provides descriptions of more than seven hundred species and explains what herbs are, which parts are collected and prepared, and how they are used.

Cover Art
How Monkeys Make Chocolate - Adrian Forsyth
Call Number: 581.6 For
ISBN: 9781897066782
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Full-color, illustrated photographs that describe the many mysteries of tropical rainforests and the connections between plants and animals.

Cover Art
Fifty Plants That Changed the Course of History - Bill Laws
Call Number: 581.6 LAW
ISBN: 1554077982
Publication Date: 2011-01-25
Profiles fifty plants that have had a significant impact on the economic, political, scientific, and industrial history of mankind.

Cover Art
Wicked Plants - Amy Stewart; Briony Morrow-Cribbs (Illustrator); Jonathon Rosen (Drawings by)
Call Number: 581.6 STE
ISBN: 9781565126831
Publication Date: 2009-05-21
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information on two hundred plants that are deadly, intoxicating, or offensive, and includes illustrations.

Cover Art
Tree - David Burnie; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 582.16 Bur
ISBN: 075661094X
Publication Date: 2005-04-11
Presents a comprehensive examination of the various species of trees around the world and describes how they grow, their root structure and leaves, pollination, tree care and management, and other interesting facts about trees.

Cover Art
Smithsonian Handbooks Trees - Allen J. Coombes; Allen Coombes
Call Number: 582.16 Coo
ISBN: 9780789489890
Publication Date: 2002-05-15
Provides descriptions and annotated photographs of various species of trees, including conifers, broadleaves, and palms, and includes height, shape, leaf persistence, and leaf type indicators.

Cover Art
Firefly Encyclopedia of Trees - Steve Cafferty (Editor)
Call Number: 582.16 Fir
ISBN: 1554070511
Publication Date: 2005-09-03
Presents full-color illustrated photographs and drawings that describes the form, structure, growth, and ecology of trees, and discusses forest management, principal trees of the world, and common and scientific names.

Cover Art
Remarkable Trees of the World - Thomas Pakenham
Call Number: 582.16 Pak
ISBN: 0393049116
Publication Date: 2002-09-17
Presents photographs and descriptions of sixty of the world's most remarkable trees, grouped according to the personality of the trees, including giants, dwarfs, Methusalehs, dreams, and trees in peril.

Cover Art
Stuck on Cactus - Yvonne Morrison
Call Number: 583 Mor
ISBN: 9780531177686
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Describes various species of cactus around the world, where and how they grow, and how they are used.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip