This is the "Home" page of the "Physics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Physics  

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/physics Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Neutrons and Neutrinos

Physics, Research

Vocational Guidance

 

Books from the Library

Cover Art
First You Build a Cloud - K. C. Cole
Call Number: 530 Col
ISBN: 0156006464
Publication Date: 1999-04-15
Presents an overview of the relationship between the science of physics and the physical world experienced by people on a daily basis, and shares the author's conversations with some of the world's greatest scientific minds, including Richard Feynman, Victor Weisskopf, and others.

Cover Art
The Hole in the Universe - K. C. Cole
Call Number: 530 Col
ISBN: 0156013177
Publication Date: 2001-11-08
Looks at what physicists, mathematicians, and other scientists have discovered about the origins and nature of the universe in their search for the point of nothingness.

Cover Art
The Facts on File Dictionary of Physics - John Daintith; Richard Rennie; Facts on File, Inc. Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: 530 Fac
ISBN: 9780816056538
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Contains over 2,800 alphabetized, cross-referenced entries on terms and topics in physics, and includes one hundred line drawings and a bibliography.

Cover Art
Feynman - Jim Ottaviani; Leland Myrick (Illustrator)
Call Number: 530 FEY
ISBN: 9781596432598
Publication Date: 2011-08-30
A graphic novel overview of the life and accomplishments of Nobel-winning quantum physicist, adventurer, and musician Richard Feynman.

Cover Art
The Cartoon Guide to Physics - Larry Gonick; Art Huffman
Call Number: 530 GON
ISBN: 0062731009
Publication Date: 1991-12-18
Explains the laws and theories of physics with funny, clear, illustrations.

Cover Art
Can You Feel the Force? - Richard Hammond; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 530 Ham
ISBN: 9780756620332
Publication Date: 2006-07-17
Uses brain-teasers, puzzles, and experiments to explore questions about how Earth works.

Cover Art
Mad about Physics - Christopher P. Jargodzki; Potter Franklin; Franklin Potter
Call Number: 530 Jar
ISBN: 0471569615
Publication Date: 2000-11-21
Presents nearly four hundred situational questions involving physics, with explained answers.

Cover Art
The Physics of Superheroes - James Kakalios
Call Number: 530 Kak
ISBN: 9781592402427
Publication Date: 2006-09-21
Presents an introduction to physics by exploring the forces and motion of action comic hereos, explaining basic rules of thermodynamics, energy, and solid state physics as it relates to real world experiences.

Cover Art
Great Ideas in Physics - Alan P. Lightman
Call Number: 530 Lig
ISBN: 0071357386
Publication Date: 2000-06-26

Cover Art
From Greek Atoms to Quarks - Sally Morgan
Call Number: 530 Mor
ISBN: 9781403495518
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Examines the history of theories about the basic building block of the physical universe.

Cover Art
American Prometheus - Kai Bird; Martin J. Sherwin
Call Number: 530 OPP
ISBN: 9780375726262
Publication Date: 2006-04-11
Chronicles the life of J. Robert Oppenheimer, focusing on how his work on the atomic bomb helped him become one of the most iconic figures of the twentieth century.

Cover Art
Suspended in Language - Jim Ottaviani; Leland Purvis (Artist); Roger Langridge (Artist); Jay Holser (Artist); Steve Leialoha (Artist); Linda Medley (Artist); Jeff Parker (Artist)
Call Number: 530 Ott
ISBN: 9780966010657
Publication Date: 2004-06-01
A biography of twentieth-century Danish physicist Niels Bohr, the father of quantum mechanics, in comic-book format.

Cover Art
Black Bodies and Quantum Cats - Jennifer Ouellette; Alan Chodos (Foreword by)
Call Number: 530 Oue
ISBN: 0143036033
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Traces key developments in the field of physics, placing the fundamentals of physics in their historical context and against a broad cultural backdrop.

Cover Art
Science 101: Physics - Barry Parker
Call Number: 530 Par
ISBN: 0060891343
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Explains how physics affects all areas of our lives, including vectors and dynamics, circular motion, geometric optics, vibrations and waves.

Cover Art
The Penguin Dictionary of Physics - Valerie Illingworth (Editor); J. P. Cullerne
Call Number: 530 Pen
ISBN: 0140514597
Publication Date: 2001-02-01

Cover Art
The Physics Book - Clifford A. Pickover
Call Number: 530 PIC
ISBN: 9781402778612
Publication Date: 2011-11-01
Chronicles 250 milestones in the history of physics, explaining major concepts, and featuring brief entries on dark energy, parallel universes, the Doppler effect, the God particle, and other related topics.

Cover Art
A Matter of Survival - Ann Weil
Call Number: 530 Wei
ISBN: 9781410919144
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Presents a short study of states of matter, and examines mass, density, and volume, physical and chemical changes, buoyancy, and more.

Cover Art
Einstein - Denis Brian
Call Number: 530.092 Ein
ISBN: 0471114596
Publication Date: 1996-04-20
A biography of Nobel Prize winning physicist Albert Einstein that explores the scientist's private life as revealed in personal archives kept secret until the last decade.

Cover Art
Genius - Marfe Ferguson Delano
Call Number: 530.092 Ein
ISBN: 9780792295457
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Presents a biography of Albert Einstein, in words and photographs, and examines the life of the physicist whose theories revolutionized the way science views the space-time continuum, and integrates Einstein's political, cultural, and social interests with his scientific beliefs.

Cover Art
Ordinary Genius - Stephanie Sammartino McPherson
Call Number: 530.092 Ein
ISBN: 9780876147887
Publication Date: 1995-03-01
Examines the life of Albert Einstein, the scientist whose theories of relativity revolutionized thinking about space and time.

Cover Art
The Electric Life of Michael Faraday - Alan Hirshfeld
Call Number: 530.092 Far
ISBN: 9780802714701
Publication Date: 2006-03-07
Chronicles the life of Michael Faraday, discussing his childhood in poverty, career as a bookbinder, rise through the ranks of the nineteenth-century scientific elite, contributions to his field, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Isaac Newton - James Gleick
Call Number: 530.092 New
ISBN: 9781400032952
Publication Date: 2004-06-08
Chronicles the life of pioneering seventeenth-century scientist Isaac Newton, describing the world in which he lived, examining the contradictory elements of his personality, and discussing his place in history.

Cover Art
Five Equations That Changed the World - Michael Guillen
Call Number: 530.1 Gui
ISBN: 0786861037
Publication Date: 1995-09-01
The stories of the people and discoveries that led to the five most powerful and important scientific achievements in human history.

Cover Art
Black Holes and Baby Universes and Other Essays - Stephen W. Hawking
Call Number: 530.1 Haw
ISBN: 0553374117
Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Includes thirteen essays ranging from the autobiographical to the purely scientific. Discusses imaginary time and black holes while reflecting on will, the value of life, and his perceptions of death.

Cover Art
Black Holes and Time Warps - Kip S. Thorne; Frederick Seitz (Introduction by); Stephen W. Hawking (Foreword by)
Call Number: 530.1 Tho
ISBN: 0393312763
Publication Date: 1995-01-17
Chronicles the struggle and eventual success in the search for an understanding to the mysterious black holes.

Cover Art
Relativity - Bruce W. Bassett; Ralph Edney; Bruce Bassett
Call Number: 530.11 BAS
ISBN: 9781848310575
Publication Date: 2005-04-15
Text and cartoon illustrations introduce Einstein's General Theory of Relativity, with information on the contributions of scientists before and after Einstein to understanding the universe.

Cover Art
E=mc2 - David Bodanis; Simon Singh (Introduction by)
Call Number: 530.11 Bod
ISBN: 0802714633
Publication Date: 2005-10-01

Cover Art
Time Travel in Einstein's Universe - J. Richard Gott
Call Number: 530.11 Got
ISBN: 0618257357
Publication Date: 2002-09-19
Discusses the scientific possibility of time travel; uses the concept of time travel to examine the origin of the universe; and explores the future of human existence.

Cover Art
The Nature of Space and Time - Stephen W. Hawking; Roger Penrose
Call Number: 530.11 Haw
ISBN: 0691037914
Publication Date: 1996-01-08
Presents essays based on lectures given by mathematics professors Stephen Hawking and Roger Penrose in which they debate the foundations of quantum mechanics, discussing in mathematical and physical terms how to combine quantum theory with the theory of general relativity.

Cover Art
Relativity and Quantum Physics for Beginners - Steven L. Manly; Steven Fournier (Illustrator)
Call Number: 530.11 MAN
ISBN: 1934389420
Publication Date: 2009-11-17
An introduction to relativity and quantum physics that covers the development of theories and applications throughout history.

Cover Art
Breaking the Time Barrier - Jenny Randles
Call Number: 530.11 Ran
ISBN: 0743492595
Publication Date: 2005-04-05
Presents an examination of scientific experiments into time travel and explores the motives of those involved, the overall consequences to society should time travel become a reality, and evidence to its possible achievement.

Cover Art
Einstein for Beginners - Joseph Schwartz; Michael McGuinness
Call Number: 530.11 SCH
ISBN: 9780375714597
Publication Date: 2003-07-15
Captioned cartoons introduce the life, ideas, and accomplishments of Albert Einstein.

Cover Art
The New Time Travelers - David Toomey
Call Number: 530.11 Too
ISBN: 9780393060133
Publication Date: 2007-07-17
Examines the scientific community's investigations into time travel since the late twentieth century, discussing the work and personalities of such figures as Stephen Hawking, Carl Sagan, and Kip Thorne as well as lesser-known physicists.

Cover Art
The Quantum Universe - Brian Cox; Jeff Forshaw
Call Number: 530.12 COX
ISBN: 0306819643
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
The authors attempt to clarify quantum mechanics and examine what observations of the natural world made it necessary, how it was constructed, and why we are confident that, for all its apparent strangeness, it is a good theory.

Cover Art
The Universe in a Nutshell - Stephen W. Hawking
Call Number: 530.12 Haw
ISBN: 055380202X
Publication Date: 2001-11-06
Physicist Stephen Hawking examines research conducted on the cosmos since his 1988 work "A Brief History of Time," seeking to combine Einstein's general theory of relativity with Richard Feynman's idea of multiple histories to create a single theory that describes everything that happens in the universe.

Cover Art
Quantum Theory - Oscar Zarate (Contribution by); J. P. McEvoy
Call Number: 530.12 MCE
ISBN: 9781840468502
Publication Date: 2003-10-14
Presents concepts in quantum theory, tackling questions raised by Bohr's Copenhagen Interpretation and discussing the assumptions that were destroyed by subatomic particle theory, uncertainty principles, and other paradoxes and enigmas raised by Einstein, Planck, and Shrodinger.

Cover Art
Universe on a T-Shirt - Dan Falk
Call Number: 530.14 Fal
ISBN: 1559707070
Publication Date: 2004-01-23
Traces scientists' quest to find the elusive unified "Theory of Everything" from ancient Greece to the breakthroughs of Newton, Maxwell, and Einstein, to the excitement over string theory and today's efforts to merge quantum theory with general relativity.

Cover Art
Eyewitness Matter - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Christopher Cooper
Call Number: 530.4 Coo
ISBN: 0789448866
Publication Date: 1999-10-04
Examines the elements that make up the physical world and the properties and behavior of different kinds of matter.

Cover Art
Desk Companion - Economist Books Staff
Call Number: 530.8 Des
ISBN: 047124953X
Publication Date: 1998-06-01
Provides guidance on the measurements and formulas used in accountancy, agriculture, construction, engineering, and more than twenty other fields, and includes more than ninety conversion tables.

Cover Art
Force and Motion - Peter Lafferty; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 531 Laf
ISBN: 0789448823
Publication Date: 1999-10-04
Explores the principles of force and motion, describing how they have been applied from ancient to modern times.

Cover Art
Sound and Electromagnetic Waves - L. C. Krysac (Editor)
Call Number: http://library.nycenet.edu/cataloging/servlet/presenttitledetailform.do?siteTypeID=-2&siteID=&includ
ISBN: 1404204075
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Contains a collection of articles that discuss trends in the study of sound and electromagnetic waves, covering the natural world, human constructions, and various applications of different waves that transport energy away from its source.

Cover Art
Absolute Zero and the Conquest of Cold - Tom Shachtman
Call Number: 536 Sha
ISBN: 0395938880
Publication Date: 1999-12-01
Traces the history of scientific efforts to learn and master the secrets of cold, and discusses the advances in civilization, comfort, and technology that have been achieved through cold research.

Cover Art
The Manga Guide to Electricity - Kazuhiro Fujitaki; Trend-pro Co., Ltd Staff; No Starch Press Staff (Created by)
Call Number: 537 FUJ
ISBN: 9781593271978
Publication Date: 2009-03-21
A Manga guide that teaches what electricity is, how it works, how it can be used, and other electrical devices and concepts through a story about Rereko who must go to summer school on Earth in order to pass her final electricity exam.

Cover Art
Eyewitness Electricity - Steve Parker; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 537 P
ISBN: 1465408991
Publication Date: 2013-07-01
Discusses the properties of electricity and describes how it is made and used.

Cover Art
The Fly in the Cathedral - Brian Cathcart
Call Number: 539.7 Cat
ISBN: 0374530262
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Re-creating the frustrations, excitements, and obsessions of 1932, the "miracle year" of British physics, Cathcart reveals in rich detail the astonishing story behind the splitting of the atom in a riveting and erudite narrative.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip