This is the "Home" page of the "Math" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Math  

Last Updated: Feb 1, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/math Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books on Math in Our Library

Cover Art
Go Figure - Johnny Ball; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 510 Bal
ISBN: 0756613744
Publication Date: 2005-08-15
Presents a collection of math activities that include brainteasers, magic tricks, and mind-reading games.

Cover Art
Why Pi? - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Johnny Ball
Call Number: 510 BAL
ISBN: 9780756651640
Publication Date: 2009-08-31
A collection of activities that explore practical math applications from throughout history.

Cover Art
Slicing Pizzas, Racing Turtles, and Further Adventures in Applied Mathematics - Robert B. Banks
Call Number: 510 Ban
ISBN: 0691102848
Publication Date: 2002-07-21
Uses relatively simple mathematics to analyze over twenty topics that deal with phenomena, events, and things encountered in everyday life.

Cover Art
Men of Mathematics - Eric T. Bell; E. T. Bell
Call Number: 510 Bel
ISBN: 9780671628185
Publication Date: 1986-10-15
A collection of biographies describing the lives and achievements of twenty-nine mathematicians. Includes Zeno, Descartes, Fermat, Pascal, Newton, and Leibniz.

Cover Art
The Book of Numbers - Peter J. Bentley
Call Number: 510 BEN
ISBN: 9781554073610
Publication Date: 2008-02-15
Examines attempts by mathematicians from throughout history to understand numbers, covering early ideas about numbers and counting, patterns, logic, numerology, the computer, the Enigma Code, and other topics.

Cover Art
I Hate Mathematics! - Marilyn Burns; Martha Weston (Illustrator); Linda Allison; David L. Weitzman
Call Number: 510 Bur
ISBN: 0316117412
Publication Date: 1975-07-30
Events, gags, magic tricks, and experiments to change one from a mathematical weakling into a mathematical heavyweight.

Cover Art
Millennium Problems - Keith J. Devlin
Call Number: 510 Dev
ISBN: 0465017290
Publication Date: 2002-10-16
Tells the stories behind seven extraordinarily difficult mathematical problems, the solutions for which the Clay Foundation of Cambridge, Massachusetts is offering one million dollars each, and discusses what they mean for the future of math and science.

Cover Art
Euclid - Chris Hayhurst
Call Number: 510 E
ISBN: 9781404204973
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
A biography of Greek mathematician, Euclid, describing his life, education, and work that led him to be known as the "father of geometry."

Cover Art
Why Do Buses Come in Threes? - Robert Eastaway; Jeremy Wyndham
Call Number: 510 Eas
ISBN: 0471347566
Publication Date: 1999-04-12
Offers mathematical explanations for the strange coincidences that occur in everyday life and explains how people can use simple mathematical equations to increase their odds of winning the lottery, finding a date, and keeping dry in the rain.

Cover Art
Mathematics 1001 - Richard Elwes
Call Number: 510 ELW
ISBN: 9781554077199
Publication Date: 2010-09-30
A general mathematics reference that offers concise explanations of key mathematical concepts and principles, covering geometry, numbers, analysis, logic, algebra, probability and statistics, applied mathematics, discrete mathematics, games and recreational mathematics, and related topics.

Cover Art
Incompleteness - Rebecca Goldstein
Call Number: 510 GOD
ISBN: 0393327604
Publication Date: 2006-02-17
Examines the life and work of mathematician and logician, Kurt Godel, briefly looking at his early scholarly life, then describing the elements of contradiction is his life that lead to his formulation of the Incompleteness Theorem--a groundbreaking work in twentieth century science.

Cover Art
How to Be a Math Genius - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff; Mike Goldsmith
Call Number: 510 GOL
ISBN: 9780756697969
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
Presents math activities and puzzles, stories of math geniuses, math facts and statistics, and more.

Cover Art
Gödel, Escher, Bach - Douglas R. Hofstadter (Preface by)
Call Number: 510 HOF
ISBN: 9780465026562
Publication Date: 1999-02-05
Discusses the unity among Johann Sebastian Bach's multifaceted compositions, graphic artist M.C. Escher's paradoxical drawings, and the mathematical concepts of Kurt Godel, exploring the Strange Loop phenomenon that occurs in all their work, in which moving upwards or downwards through the levels of a hierarchical system leads right back to the beginning.

Cover Art
Math for Grownups - Laura Laing
Call Number: 510 LAI
ISBN: 1440512639
Publication Date: 2011-07-18
A refresher course in mathematics for adults, providing examples of how to use math to address real-life situations at the store, when buying a car or house, at home, when cooking, in the yard, in the craft room, at the bank, in the gym, and on the road.

Cover Art
Math Doesn't Suck - Danica McKellar
Call Number: 510 McK
ISBN: 9781594630392
Publication Date: 2007-08-02
Actress and math theorem coauthor Danica McKellar teaches math concepts introduced in middle school, the period when many young girls lose interest in math, using entertaining examples.

Cover Art
Count Down - Steve Olson
Call Number: 510 Ols
ISBN: 0618251413
Publication Date: 2004-04-02
Follows the six members of the 2001 Mathematical Olympiad team, and portrays them as something other than the stereotypical math student, with many varying interests, and discusses reasons for the lack of girls and the high percentage of Asian students in mathematics.

Cover Art
Letters to a Young Mathematician - Ian Stewart
Call Number: 510 Ste
ISBN: 9780465082315
Publication Date: 2006-03-27
Leading research mathematician Ian Stewart reflects on the things he wishes he had known when he was a student, addressing a wide range of topics related to his field of study, including what mathematics is, why it's worth doing, the link between logic and proof, the role of beauty of mathematics, and many others.

Cover Art
The Magical Maze - Ian Stewart
Call Number: 510 Ste
ISBN: 0471350656
Publication Date: 1999-08-23
Approaches mathematics using an assortment of puzzles and problems and the metaphorical structure of a maze.

Cover Art
Math Games for Middle School - Mario Salvadori; Joseph P. Wright
Call Number: 510.71 Sal
ISBN: 9781556522888
Publication Date: 1998-07-01
Uses explanations, word problems, and games to cover some mathematical topics that middle school students need to know, including the invention of numerical notations, basic arithmetical operations, measurements, geometry, graphs, and probability.

Cover Art
Hypatia - Sandy Donovan
Call Number: 510.92 Don
ISBN: 9780756537609
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
A biographical and historical study of Hypatia, a philosopher and mathematician in the 300s and 400s, who was killed in Alexandria by Christians because they thought she was pagan.

Cover Art
In Code - Sarah Flannery; David Flannery
Call Number: 510.92 Fla
ISBN: 9781565123779
Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Irish teenager Sarah Flannery describes her lifelong study of cryptography, which led to her success as an internationally recognized mathematician.

Cover Art
Everything and More - David Foster Wallace
Call Number: 511.3 WAL
ISBN: 9780393326291
Publication Date: 2004-11-17
Traces the history of the theory of infinity, explaining how mathematicians have attempted to prove or disprove the theory and how it is applied in mathematics.

Cover Art
Math for Smarty Pants - Marilyn Burns; Martha Weston (Illustrator)
Call Number: 513 Bur
ISBN: 9780316117388
Publication Date: 1982-04-01
Text, illustrations, and suggested activities offer a common-sense approach to mathematic fundamentals for those who are slightly terrified of numbers.

Cover Art
One Million - Hendrik Hertzberg
Call Number: 513 HER
ISBN: 0810978458
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Illustrates the number one million by having 5,000 dots on each page of this 200 page book and contains miscellaneous statistics as one counts to one million.

Cover Art
Arithmetricks - Edward H. Julius
Call Number: 513 Jul
ISBN: 9780471106395
Publication Date: 1995-06-23
Contains fifty tricks and tips for doing addition, subtraction, multiplication and division quickly, without a calculator. Includes three appendixes on symbols, terms, and tables, parlor tricks, and number facts, and a chapter with answers to featured problems.

Cover Art
The Nothing That Is - Robert Kaplan; Ellen Kaplan (Illustrator)
Call Number: 513 Kap
ISBN: 0195142373
Publication Date: 2000-12-07
Explains how people can learn about the evolution of mathematics by studying the history of the number zero.

Cover Art
The Only Math Book You'll Ever Need - Stanley Kogelman; Barbara R. Heller
Call Number: 513 Kog
ISBN: 0062725076
Publication Date: 1995-05-12
Provides simple formulas and shortcuts for everyday math challenges such as balancing a checkbook, doing metric conversions, estimating taxes, and calculating credit card interest.

Cover Art
Fractals - Ralph Gordon; Will Rood; Nigel Lesmoir-Gordon; Ralph Edney (Contribution by)
Call Number: 514 LES
ISBN: 9781848310872
Publication Date: 2005-10-15
An introduction to fractal geometry that describes the history of the discipline from Zeno to calculus, and also discusses Benoît Mandelbrot and examples of fractal geometry in everyday life.

Cover Art
The Britannica Guide to Geometry - Robert Curley; William L. Hosch (Editor)
Call Number: 516 BRI
ISBN: 9781615301027
Publication Date: 2010-08-15
Provides information about the history, branches, discoverers, and applications of geometry, with explanations of how and why it works.

Cover Art
Dr. Math Introduces Geometry - The Math Forum; Math Forum Staff
Call Number: 516 DR
ISBN: 0471225541
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
Examines the basics of geometry and provides instruction on lines, rays, and angles, measuring three-dimensional objects, and applying geometry in the real world.

Cover Art
Symmetry - Marcus Du Sautoy
Call Number: 516 Du
ISBN: 9780060789404
Publication Date: 2008-03-11
Explains the various kinds of symmetry, introduces mathematicians in the field of symmetry, and the "Monster," a giant snowflake in 196,884 dimensions.

Cover Art
Geometry for the Clueless - Robert Miller; Bob Miller
Call Number: 516 MIL
ISBN: 0071459022
Publication Date: 2005-09-22
Presents an introduction to geometry, providing information on the basic concepts of geometry, including practice exercises for every topic, tips for solving difficult problems, new methods and curriculum approaches, and study questions.

Cover Art
Geometry for Every Kid - Janice Pratt VanCleave
Call Number: 516 VAN
ISBN: 9780471311416
Publication Date: 1994-08-02
Uses simple problems and activities to teach kids ages eight to twelve about acute and obtuse angles, plane and space figures, and parallel and perpendicular lines.

Cover Art
Figuring Out Geometry - Rebecca Wingard-Nelson
Call Number: 516 WIN
ISBN: 9780766028807
Publication Date: 2008-05-01
Presents lessons and step-by-step exercises in geometry, covering such topics as planes, angles, perimeter, area, volume, and circumference.

Cover Art
The Golden Ratio - Mario Livio
Call Number: 516.2 LIV
ISBN: 9780767908160
Publication Date: 2003-09-23
Tells the story of phi, the never ending, never repeating number known as the Golden Ratio, written as 1.6180339887..., looking at how it has been used, and claims about its use, throughout the history of mathematics.

Cover Art
Struck by Lightning - Jeffrey S. Rosenthal
Call Number: 519.2 Ros
ISBN: 0309097347
Publication Date: 2006-03-28
Explains the mechanics of randomness in order to help people develop an informed perspective on probability and recognize how many aspects of life are ruled by uncertainty and randomness.

Cover Art
Probability and Statistics - John Tabak
Call Number: 519.2 Tab
ISBN: 0816049564
Publication Date: 2004-05-01
Traces the history and development of probability and statistics from its origins in the Renaissance to its twenty-first-century applications, and includes an index, chronology, glossary, and resources for further study.

Cover Art
Triumph of Numbers - I. Bernard Cohen
Call Number: 519.5 Coh
ISBN: 0393057690
Publication Date: 2005-03-01
Contains an overview of the history of numbers, describing how numbers have taken a major role in defining the sciences, influencing all aspects of society, including government, marketing, and sports, tracing its evolution from thinkers such as Kepler and Galileo, through Thomas Jefferson, Ben Franklin, and Florence Nightingale.

Cover Art
Cartoon Guide to Statistics - Larry Gonick; Woollcott Smith
Call Number: 519.5 GON
ISBN: 9780062731029
Publication Date: 1993-07-14
Illustrates the principles of statistics through humorous cartoons.

Cover Art
Once upon a Number - John Allen Paulos
Call Number: 519.5 Pau
ISBN: 0465051588
Publication Date: 1998-10-29
Studies the similarities between stories and numbers and discusses how scientists are starting to deal with social, political, and economical situations with mathematical solutions.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip