This is the "Home" page of the "Human Biology" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Human Biology  

Last Updated: Feb 7, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/humanbiology Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from the Library

Cover Art
An Appetite for Wonder - Richard Dawkins
Call Number: 570 D
ISBN: 9780062225795
Publication Date: 2013-09-24
Known for his new vision of Darwinism, Richard Dawkins paints a canvas of his early life from child to scientist.

Cover Art
Science 101 - George Ochoa
Call Number: 570 Och
ISBN: 0060891351
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Presents the basic facts and concepts of biology, including how the human body works, and the latest advances in genetics and DNA research.

Cover Art
Nature's Machines - Deborah A. Parks
Call Number: 570.92 Koe
ISBN: 9780531167809
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Presents a look at the life and career of biomechanist Mimi Koehl, providing information on her childhood, her education, and her work using engineering and physics to study the designs of living things.

Cover Art
Heredity - Kristi Lew
Call Number: 572.8 LEW
ISBN: 9781604130423
Publication Date: 2009-07-01
Explains how certain physical traits are passed down from parent to child, traces the history of genetic research, discusses advances in genetic mapping and therapies, and describes the methods scientists use to study the subject.

Cover Art
Double Helix - Glen Phelan
Call Number: 572.8 Phe
ISBN: 9780792255413
Publication Date: 2006-08-08
Traces the quest to solve the mysteries of DNA and how human traits are passed down from one generation to another;and profiles the scientists involved in its discovery.

Cover Art
Skeleton - Steve Parker; Philip Dowell (Illustrator)
Call Number: 573.7 Par
ISBN: 0756607264
Publication Date: 2004-08-09
Discusses the evolution, structure and function of the human and animal skeletal systems.

Cover Art
The Double Helix - James D. Watson; J. Watson
Call Number: 574.87 Wat
ISBN: 0684852799
Publication Date: 1998-02-27
An account of the events which led to the solution of the structure of DNA.

Cover Art
Francis Crick - Matt Ridley
Call Number: 576.5 Cri
ISBN: 9780060823337
Publication Date: 2006-06-13
Chronicles the life of English biophysicist Francis Crick, tracing the course of his genetic research, discussing his discoveries about DNA, and touching on his investigations into consciousness during his last two decades.

Cover Art
The Selfish Gene - Richard Dawkins
Call Number: 576.5 DAW
ISBN: 9780199291144
Publication Date: 2006-05-18
Examines the biology of selfishness and altruism in light of Darwin's Theory of Evolution.

Cover Art
Inheritance and Selection - Ann Fullick
Call Number: 576.5 Ful
ISBN: 9781403475237
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Offers a comprehensive, yet easy-to-follow, overview of genetics, explaining how genes are passed on from one generation to the next, the variety genes create, and the process of evolution.

Cover Art
Cartoon Guide to Genetics - Larry Gonick; Mark Wheelis
Call Number: 576.5 GON
ISBN: 0062730991
Publication Date: 1991-08-14
Illustrates the principles of genetics in simplified, humor-coated cartoons.

Cover Art
Introducing Genetics - Steve Jones
Call Number: 576.5 JON
ISBN: 1848312954
Publication Date: 2011-11-15
Text and comic-style illustrations introduce the science of genetics and the history of genetic study.

Cover Art
The Stuff of Life - Mark Schultz; Zander Cannon (Illustrator); Kevin Cannon (Illustrator)
Call Number: 576.5 S
ISBN: 9780809094943
Publication Date: 2008-12-23
Bloort 183, an asexual alien scientist, explains the fundamentals of genetics, covering human DNA, evolution, and other scientific concepts in graphic novel format.

Cover Art
Blame Your Parents - Buffy Silverman
Call Number: 576.5 Sil
ISBN: 9781410928412
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Examines how children inherit certain genes and traits from their parents; and discusses DNA, inherited and learned traits, and dominant and recessive genes.

Cover Art
Genes and DNA - Richard Walker; Steve Jones
Call Number: 576.5 Wal
ISBN: 0753456214
Publication Date: 2003-10-24
Presents an illustrated introduction to the science of genetics and DNA, explaining what they are and their function in the human body, and looking at the significance of advances in genetic technology.

Cover Art
DNA - James D. Watson; Andrew Berry
Call Number: 576.5 Wat
ISBN: 0375710078
Publication Date: 2004-08-17
Chronicles the history of genetic research, examines the light DNA has shone on human origins and genetic relationships, and discusses the impact DNA has had on business, medicine, and ethical debates.

Cover Art
Modern Genetics - Lisa Yount
Call Number: 576.5 YOU
ISBN: 9780816057443
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
Profiles fourteen notable scientists in the field of genetic engineering, discussing their research, accomplishments, ethical and professional obstacles, and contributions. Includes photographs, illustrations, chronology of notable events, and a list of resources.

Cover Art
Biological Evolution - Katy Human (Editor)
Call Number: 576.8 BIO
ISBN: 1404204032
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Contains a collection of articles that discuss trends in the study of biological evolution, including information on its basic principles, as well as adaptation, extinction, and the influence of technology.

Cover Art
Global Brain - Howard Bloom
Call Number: 576.8 Blo
ISBN: 9780471295846
Publication Date: 2000-08-14

Cover Art
Charles and Emma - Deborah Heiligman
Call Number: 576.8 D
ISBN: 9780805087215
Publication Date: 2009-01-06
A biography of English naturalist Charles Darwin that provides an account of the personality behind evolutionary theory and the affect of his work on his personal life, such as his relationship with his religious wife.

Cover Art
Charles Darwin - Tim M. Berra
Call Number: 576.8 DAR
ISBN: 9780801891045
Publication Date: 2008-10-29
Profiles the life of Charles Darwin, discussing his personal life as a friend, husband, and father; examining his scientific work; and including illustrations and photographs.

Cover Art
The Portable Darwin - Charles Darwin; Duncan M. Porter (Editor, Introduction by, Notes by, Epilogue by); Peter W. Graham (Editor, Introduction by, Notes by, Epilogue by)
Call Number: 576.8 Dar
ISBN: 0140151095
Publication Date: 1993-11-01
Contains selections from books, letters, essays, and scientific papers by Charles Darwin.

Cover Art
Charles Darwin and the Mystery of Mysteries - Niles Eldredge; Susan Pearson (Illustrator)
Call Number: 576.8 DAR
ISBN: 9781596433748
Publication Date: 2010-05-11
Examines the life of Charles Darwin and explains that thinking that led him to develop his theory of evolution. Includes historical photographs and passages from Darwin's diary.

Cover Art
Darwin - Niles Eldredge
Call Number: 576.8 Dar
ISBN: 0393059669
Publication Date: 2005-11-17
Presents an examination of the life and work of Charles Darwin, and provides a new interpretation of Darwin's theories that include new insights into the continuing importance of his thinking.

Cover Art
Charles Darwin - David C. King
Call Number: 576.8 Dar
ISBN: 0756625556
Publication Date: 2006-12-25
Describes the life and scientific career of Charles Darwin, especially his theory of evolution which was published in his famous book in 1859: The origin of species by means of natural selection, or, the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life.

Cover Art
Darwin's Ghost - Steve Jones
Call Number: 576.8 Jon
ISBN: 0345422775
Publication Date: 2001-04-03
Presents a twenty-first-century restatement of Charles Darwin's 1859 text, "The Origin of the Species," in which he put forth his theory of evolution; using Darwin's logic to illuminate discoveries of modern times.

Cover Art
Charles Darwin's on the Origin of Species - Michael Keller; Nicolle Rager Fuller (Illustrator)
Call Number: 576.8 KEL
ISBN: 9781605296975
Publication Date: 2009-10-27
Presents an adaptation, in graphic novel form, of Charles Darwin's theory of evolution by natural selection that also covers his early research, the public's intial reception of the book, his correspondence with other scientists of his time, and more.

Cover Art
Evolution - Edward J. Larson
Call Number: 576.8 Lar
ISBN: 0679642889
Publication Date: 2004-05-04
Chronicles the history of evolutionary science from early-nineteenth-century theory to twenty-first-century sociobiology, discussing the work of Darwin as well as other figures including Georges Cuvier, W. D. Hamilton, and E. O. Wilson.

Cover Art
What Evolution Is - Ernst Mayr; Jared Diamond (Introduction by)
Call Number: 576.8 MAY
ISBN: 0465044255
Publication Date: 2001-10-17
Biologist Ernst Mayr defends the Darwinian explanations of biology, explaining contemporary models of evolution for those who accept evolution but are not sure Darwin's explanation is correct.

Cover Art
Totally Human - Cynthia Pratt Nicolson; Dianne Eastman (Illustrator)
Call Number: 576.8 NIC
ISBN: 9781554535699
Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Explains the evolutionary reasons for a variety of human behaviors, such as burping, seeing colors, liking music, sleeping, and more.

Cover Art
Evolution - Douglas Palmer; Peter Barrett (Illustrator)
Call Number: 576.8 PAL
ISBN: 9780520255111
Publication Date: 2009-11-09
An illustrated overview of evolution that examines communities of species from microbes to humans throughout history, along with fossil sites, discusses Charles Darwin and his research, and related topics; and features time lines, a species index, and gatefolds.

Cover Art
Tower of Babel - Robert T. Pennock
Call Number: 576.8 Pen
ISBN: 0262661659
Publication Date: 2000-02-28
"In clear, direct prose, Pennock uses the basics of linguistic evolution to go after the foundation of the new creationism while emphasizing sound philosophical arguments to demonstrate that an evolutionary world view is neither immoral nor the first step toward the acceptance of atheism."--"Publishers Weekly."

Cover Art
Billions of Years, Amazing Changes - Laurence Pringle; Steve Jenkins (Illustrator)
Call Number: 576.8 PRI
ISBN: 9781590787236
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Describes evolution and the history of the study of evolution.

Cover Art
The Top 10 Myths about Evolution - Charles Sullivan; Cameron Smith; Gerald Fried (Illustrator)
Call Number: 576.8 Smi
ISBN: 9781591024798
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
In this concise, accessible, "myth-busters handbook," two renowned educators clearly dispel the ten most common myths about evolution. Using a refreshing, jargon-free style, they set the record straight that evolution is "just a theory." Illustrations.

Cover Art
Evolution - Carl Zimmer
Call Number: 576.809 Zim
ISBN: 9780061138409
Publication Date: 2006-09-05
Presents a twenty-first-century view of evolution, exploring the implications of Darwin's theory and demonstrating the power and relevance of evolution in the modern world.

Cover Art
The Skull in the Rock - Marc Aronson; Lee Berger
Call Number: 569.9 BER
ISBN: 9781426310102
Publication Date: 2012-10-23
Tells the story of how Professor Lee Berger and his nine-year-old son used Google Earth to find a new way to study the history of human evolution.

Cover Art
Lucy's Legacy - Kate Wong; Donald Johanson
Call Number: 569.9 JOH
ISBN: 0307396401
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
The author describes his 1974 discovery of Lucy, a 3.2-million-year-old hominid, and examines paleontological findings since then, discussing their influence on the study of evolution.

Cover Art
Planet Ape - Desmond Morris; Steve Parker
Call Number: 599.88 MOR
ISBN: 9781554075669
Publication Date: 2009-09-10
Photographs and text explore the lives and characteristics of apes from Africa, focusing on gorillas, chimpanzees, bonobos, and orangutans; and discussing ape intelligence, daily needs, communication, social behaviors, stages of life, natural threats, and more.

Cover Art
Origins Reconsidered - Richard Leakey; Roger Lewin (Contribution by)
Call Number: 599.9 Lea
ISBN: 0385467923
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
Investigates not only how humans evolved anatomically, but how they acquired the qualities that make them human-- consciousness, creativity, and culture.

Cover Art
Origin of Humankind - Richard Leakey
Call Number: 599.938 Lea
ISBN: 0465053130
Publication Date: 1996-08-23
Richard Leakey examines the evidence and the various theories about the origin of human beings.

Cover Art
The Last Human - G. J. Sawyer; Viktor Deak (Other Primary Creator); Ian Tattersall (Introduction by); Donald C. Johanson (Foreword by); Richard Milner; Esteban Sarmiento; Meave Leakey (Afterword by)
Call Number: 569.9 Sar
ISBN: 9780300100471
Publication Date: 2007-06-28
Full-color illustrations present three-dimensional reconstructions of what anthropologists and paleontologists believe to be early species of humans on the earth.

Cover Art
Human - Robert Winston (Contribution by); Don E. Wilson (Contribution by)
Call Number: 599.9 Hum
ISBN: 0756605202
Publication Date: 2004-10-04
Presents a full-color illustrated guide to understanding human existence and provides information on the body and mind, human culture, rituals, customs and beliefs, and profiles more than two hundred fifty societies from around the world in order to discover how they live, work, and exist.

Cover Art
Extinct Humans - Ian Tattersall; Jeffrey Schwartz
Call Number: 599.93 Tat
ISBN: 0813339189
Publication Date: 2001-12-05
Presents archaeological evidence for the existence of multiple coexisting human species, and includes over one hundred photographs and illustrations.

Cover Art
Before the Dawn - Nicholas Wade
Call Number: 599.93 Wad
ISBN: 9781594200793
Publication Date: 2006-04-20
Draws on new findings to examine the ancestral human population that lived in Africa fifty thousand years ago, explaining how the human line evolved from African apes to humans with the unique gift of language.

Cover Art
The Journey of Man - Spencer Wells; Mark Read (Photographer)
Call Number: 599.93 Wel
ISBN: 069111532X
Publication Date: 2003-01-12
Reveals how developments in the cutting-edge science of population genetics have made it possible to link every human on earth back to one man who lived in Africa more than six thousand years ago.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip