This is the "Home" page of the "Economics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Economics  

Last Updated: Feb 2, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/economics Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Book from the Library on Economics

Cover Art
Economics for the Rest of Us - Moshe Adler
Call Number: 330 ADL
ISBN: 1595586415
Publication Date: 2011-04-05
Argues that contemporary economic theories, particularly those concerning efficiency and wages, favor the rich over the poor, and that there are better, more just options.

Cover Art
The Economics Book - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 330 ECO
ISBN: 9780756698270
Publication Date: 2012-08-20
Provides explanations and step-by-step diagrams on economics, with quotes and witty illustrations to enhance understanding of its concepts.

Cover Art
Little Book of Big Ideas: Economics - Mathew Forstater; James Rollo (Introduction by)
Call Number: 330 For
ISBN: 9781556526664
Publication Date: 2007-05-28
Offers a collection of short entries that provides brief profiles of fifty prominent figures and explanations of ten key concepts in the field of economics.

Cover Art
The Worldly Philosophers - Robert L. Heilbroner
Call Number: 330 Hei
ISBN: 9780684862149
Publication Date: 1999-08-10
Presents the ideas of the great economic thinkers, from Adam Smith to Malthus, and from Marx to John Maynard Keynes.

Cover Art
Freakonomics - Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner
Call Number: 330 LEV
ISBN: 9780060731335
Publication Date: 2009-08-25
The authors explore the economics of real-world issues often viewed as insignificant, such as the extent to which the Roe v. Wade decision affected violent crime, and examine hidden incentives behind all sorts of human behavior.

Cover Art
SuperFreakonomics - Steven D. Levitt; Stephen J. Dubner
Call Number: 330 LEV
ISBN: 0060889586
Publication Date: 2011-05-24
The authors explore the economics of real-world issues often viewed as insignificant, such as the odds of someone with both a Muslim first and last name being a terrorist, if eating kangaroo can save the planet, and if it is safer to drive or walk drunk. Includes illustrations designed to help readers visualize the authors' explanations.

Cover Art
Introducing Economics - David Orrell; Borin Van Loon
Call Number: 330 ORR
ISBN: 1848312156
Publication Date: 2011-08-23
Text and cartoon illustrations follow the history of economics from the ancient Greeks to the twenty-first century.

Cover Art
The Instant Economist - Timothy Taylor
Call Number: 330 TAY
ISBN: 0452297524
Publication Date: 2012-01-31
An easy-to-understand explanation of economic principles, tackling questions and topics of microeconomics and macroeconomics

Cover Art
Capitalism - Dan Cryan; Sharron Shatil; Piero (Contribution by)
Call Number: 330.12 CRY
ISBN: 9781848310551
Publication Date: 2005-06-15
Examines the practical and theoretical impact of capitalism, which dominates the globe and influences laws, wars, government, and personal relationships, and covers major social, economic, and political developments leading up to the twenty-first century.

Cover Art
Keynes - Peter Pugh
Call Number: 330.156 PUG
ISBN: 184831065X
Publication Date: 2005-08-15
Text and comic-style illustrations are used to introduce the life and theories of economist John Maynard Keynes, whose ideas served as the basis for Roosevelt's New Deal, the plan that helped the United States recover from the Great Depression.

Cover Art
The Affluent Society - John Kenneth Galbraith
Call Number: 330.973 Gal
ISBN: 0395925002
Publication Date: 1998-10-15
Discusses the new economics of abundance, laying bare the hazards of individual and societal complacency about economic inequality.

Cover Art
Understanding the Crash - Seth Tobocman (Illustrator); Eric Laursen; Doug Henwood (Foreword by); Jessica Wehrle (Illustrator)
Call Number: 330.973 TOB
ISBN: 1593762720
Publication Date: 2010-06-08
Uses a graphic novel format to chronicle the events that led to the financial crisis of 2008 and explain how people can overcome financial setbacks and go on with their lives.

Cover Art
The Lexicon of Labor - R. Emmett Murray; Thomas Geoghegan (Foreword by)
Call Number: 331 Mur
ISBN: 1565844564
Publication Date: 1998-11-01
Contains over five hundred alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about people, places and events in the history of American labor.

Cover Art
Child Labor and Sweatshops - Christine Watkins
Call Number: 331.3 CHI
ISBN: 9780737748758
Publication Date: 2010-09-10
Collects twelve essays that provide information about child labor and sweatshops, discussing their harm to children, legislation, laws, the influence of free trade agreements and globalization, government boycotts of sweatshop products, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Kids at Work - Russell Freedman; Lewis W. Hine (Photographer)
Call Number: 331.3 Hin
ISBN: 9780395587034
Publication Date: 1994-08-15
Text and accompanying photographs show the use of children as industrial workers, interwoven with the story of Lewis W. Hine who took these photographs and whose life work made significant difference in the lives of others.

Cover Art
Free the Children - Craig Kielburger; Kevin Major
Call Number: 331.3 KIE
ISBN: 0060930659
Publication Date: 1999-11-17
Chronicles the efforts of twelve-year-old Craig Kielburger and his human rights organization Free the Children to stop child labor in foreign countries.

Cover Art
Before Their Time - David L. Parker; Tom Harkin (Foreword by); David Parker
Call Number: 331.3 PAR
ISBN: 9781593720247
Publication Date: 2007-09-03
Photographs and text reveal the plight of children around the world who are forced to work, many of them in harmful industries such as prostitution and forced military service, by their families and government.

Cover Art
America's Working Women - Rosalyn Fraad Baxandall
Call Number: 331.4 Ame
ISBN: 0393312623
Publication Date: 1995-06-01
Selections from diaries, historical works, letters, and fiction describing and analyzing the conditions of women's work, how they have changed over time, and the sources of these changes.

Cover Art
Rosie the Riveter - Penny Colman
Call Number: 331.4 Col
ISBN: 9780517885673
Publication Date: 1998-02-10
Describes the many roles assumed by women in the U.S. after the country's entry into World War II.

Cover Art
Dolores Huerta - Robin S. Doak
Call Number: 331.4 Doa
ISBN: 9780756534776
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
A biography of Dolores Huerta that discusses her childhood in California, exposure to racism, founding of the National Farmworkers Association, activism, and more.

Cover Art
Debt - David Graeber
Call Number: 332 GRA
ISBN: 1933633867
Publication Date: 2011-07-12
Anthropologist David Graeber examines the history of debt since the first agrarian empires and before the invention of coins or cash, and explores the affects of arguments about debt and debt forgiveness throughout history.

Cover Art
Banker to the Poor - Muhammad Yunus
Call Number: 332.1 Yun
ISBN: 9781586481988
Publication Date: 2003-10-16
Muhammad Yunus discusses the obstacles he overcame in setting up a bank devoted to providing the poor of Bangladesh with small loans.

Cover Art
The Price of a Dream - David Bornstein
Call Number: 332.2 Bor
ISBN: 9780195187496
Publication Date: 2005-10-27

Cover Art
Six Days in October - Karen Blumenthal
Call Number: 332.64 BLU
ISBN: 0689842767
Publication Date: 2002-09-01
A comprehensive review of the events, personalities, and mistakes behind the Stock Market Crash of 1929, featuring photographs, newspaper articles, and cartoons of the day.

Cover Art
Natural Resources and Sustainable Development - Kathy Wilson Peacock; Jeremy Carl (Foreword by)
Call Number: 333.7 PEA
ISBN: 9780816072156
Publication Date: 2008-06-01
Examines the impact overconsumption has had on natural resources in the United States, China, India, Germany, and Brazil, and describes government actions and strategies that can reduce energy consumption and aid in the search for alternative sources.

Cover Art
Unbowed - Wangari Maathai
Call Number: 333.72 Maa
ISBN: 0307263487
Publication Date: 2006-10-03
Kenyan environmentalist, feminist, and political activist Wangari Maathai, winner of the 2004 Nobel Peace Prize, tells her life story.

Cover Art
Alternative Energy Demystified - Stan Gibilisco
Call Number: 333.79 GIB
ISBN: 9780071475549
Publication Date: 2006-10-23
A comprehensive guide to the alternative energy sources and technologies that are available to the general public that includes information on the different types of heat sources, propulsion methods, and electric sources that can be used instead of the typical, natural resource-depleating methods commonly used.

Cover Art
Power to the People - Vijay V. Vaitheeswaran
Call Number: 333.79 Vai
ISBN: 0374529701
Publication Date: 2005-01-03

Cover Art
The End of the Line - Charles Clover
Call Number: 333.95 Clo
ISBN: 9781595581099
Publication Date: 2006-11-13
Explores issues related to overfishing, discussing increased demands, exploitation of stocks around the world, aquaculture, the health risks of eating farmed fish, and more; and provides suggestions on how to address the problems.

Cover Art
Marxism - Rupert Woodfin; Zarate
Call Number: 335.4 WOO
ISBN: 1848310587
Publication Date: 2005-04-15
Text and comic-style illustrations are used to explore the life, history, philosophy, and politics of Karl Marx.

Cover Art
Communism - Richard Pipes
Call Number: 335.43 Pip
ISBN: 0812968646
Publication Date: 2003-08-05
Explains the history of Communism in the Soviet Union from the 1917 Revolution to it decline and sudden collapse.

Cover Art
The Lexus and the Olive Tree - Thomas L. Friedman
Call Number: 337 Fri
ISBN: 0385499345
Publication Date: 2000-05-02
Explains how globalization is shaping world affairs, how it replaced the Cold War system, how it is creating a single global market, its influence on domestic policies, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Globalization - Adam Hibbert
Call Number: 337 Hib
ISBN: 9781410910714
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Describes factors that have led to globalization, including trade and technological progress, and the roles of the United Nations, IMF, World Bank, and World Trade Organization in the management of globalization, and discusses arguments regarding its fairness and its impact on people in developing countries.

Cover Art
The European Union - Alasdair Blair
Call Number: 337.1 BLA
ISBN: 1851688986
Publication Date: 2012-07-07
Discusses the history and politics of the European Union, explaining its major institutions, stability, and future.

Cover Art
Should the U. S. Do Business with China? - Laura K. Egendorf
Call Number: 337.73 SHO
ISBN: 9780737741124
Publication Date: 2008-10-24
A collection of fourteen essays that debates whether the United States should do business with China, discussing if trade benefits the U.S., the effects of economic engagement on the politics of China, recalls of products, exploitation of workers by the Chinese government, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Dollars and Sense - Avelyn Davidson
Call Number: 338 Dav
ISBN: 9780531188361
Publication Date: 2008-03-01
Discusses the role that science plays in facts that affect the economy around the world like transportation, the oil industry, and in natural disasters like the bird flu, hurricanes and global warming.

Cover Art
The Great Crash 1929 - John Kenneth Galbraith
Call Number: 338.5 Gal
ISBN: 9780395859995
Publication Date: 1997-04-30
An account of the causes, events, and aftermath of the financial panic and crash of 1929 that was the beginning of the Great Depression.

Cover Art
World Financial Meltdown - Laura La Bella
Call Number: 338.5 LA
ISBN: 9781435835641
Publication Date: 2010-01-15
Provides information about the economic conditions of the early twenty-first century which is aimed at helping students determine fact from fiction in relation to global financial meltdowns, and discusses ways the government tries to prevent financial crises.

Cover Art
The Story of Apple - Sara Gilbert
Call Number: 338.7 G
ISBN: 1608180611
Publication Date: 2011-09-01
Traces the history of the American corporation Apple, describing how Steve Wozniak and Steve Jobs used their interest in technology to begin a computer business that would become one of the most successful computer companies in the twenty-first century.

Cover Art
Geeks - Jon Katz
Call Number: 338.7 KAT
ISBN: 9780767906999
Publication Date: 2001-02-20
Tells the true story of Jesse and Eric, nineteen-year-old roommates in the small town of Caldwell, Idaho who changed their lives and built a new future for themselves with the power of the Internet.

Cover Art
The Google Story - David A. Vise; Mark Malseed
Call Number: 338.7 Vis
ISBN: 9780553804577
Publication Date: 2005-11-15
Presents an overview of the history of Internet based search engine company Google, from the meeting of the two founders at Stanford University to the development of technology that delivers lightning-fast search results.

Cover Art
The Future of the Earth - Philippe J. Dubois (Text by); Valerie Guidoux (Text by); Robert Burleigh (Adapted by); Sylvia Bataille (Illustrator); Yann Arthus-Bertrand
Call Number: 338.9 Dub
ISBN: 0810950189
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Discusses the diversity, richness, and complexity of sustainable development issues around the world.

Cover Art
Destruction of Earth's Resources - Adam Winters
Call Number: 338.9 WIN
ISBN: 9781404207462
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Explores some of the greatest problems that threaten the world's ecosystems and ways in which both knowledge and technology can provide essential services to impoverished areas.

Cover Art
Is the Gap Between the Rich and Poor Growing? - Robert Sims (Editor)
Call Number: 339.2 IS
ISBN: 9780737727012
Publication Date: 2005-08-12
Presents twelve essays that addresses issues of economic inequality in America, and discusses the differences in income between African-Americans and white, variables that create income inequality, and much more.

Cover Art
The End of Poverty - Jeffrey D. Sachs; Bono (Foreword by)
Call Number: 339.4 Sac
ISBN: 9780143036586
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
The author shares what he has learned about global poverty through visits to more than one hundred countries, and presents his plan for ending extreme poverty around the world by the year 2025.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip