This is the "Home" page of the "Earth Science" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Earth Science  

Last Updated: Feb 2, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/earthscience Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Careers in Earth Science

Crystallography

Earth Photographs from Space

Environment

Space Research

Stratigraphy

 

Books from the Library on Earth Science

Cover Art
Earth - James F. Luhr (Editor)
Call Number: 550 E
ISBN: 0789496437
Publication Date: 2003-10-06
A detailed visual overview of Earth's anatomy, tectonics, early life-forms, environment, atmosphere, weather, physical geography, and place in the solar system, which profiles nearly a thousand features on land and in the ocean and contains thousands of color photos and graphics.

Cover Art
Science 101 - Geology - Mark A. S. McMenamin
Call Number: 550 McM
ISBN: 9780060891367
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Covers the history of geological theory, the formation and structure of the Earth's layers and the basics of plate tectonics, magma, and fossils.

Cover Art
A History of Earth in 100 Groundbreaking Discoveries - Douglas Palmer
Call Number: 550 PAL
ISBN: 1554078075
Publication Date: 2011-08-04
A journey back through the evolutionary history of our planet, from the origins and formation of the earth.

Cover Art
Shaping the Earth - Dorothy Hinshaw Patent; William Muñoz (Photographer)
Call Number: 550 Pat
ISBN: 0395856914
Publication Date: 2000-03-20
Explains the forces that have created the geological features on the earth's surface.

Cover Art
Earth Then and Now - Fred Pearce; Zac Goldsmith (Foreword by)
Call Number: 550 Pea
ISBN: 9781554072989
Publication Date: 2007-09-14
Presents three hundred before-and-after photos of places throughout the world, taken between five and one hundred years apart, exploring environmental change, industrialization, urbanization, natural disasters, war, and travel and tourism.

Cover Art
The Kingfisher Young People's Book of Planet Earth - Martin Redfern
Call Number: 550 Red
ISBN: 0753451808
Publication Date: 1999-09-01
Examines the geology, atmosphere, and weather of the planet Earth and how they affect its life forms.

Cover Art
Extreme Earth - Ripley's Believe It or Not Editors; Ripley Entertainment Staff; Camilla De la Bédoyère; Lisa Regan; Clint Twist
Call Number: 550 REG
ISBN: 9781893951785
Publication Date: 2010-10-12
Contains facts about and photographs of the Earth, covering earthquakes, volcanoes, underground caves and mines, coral reefs and coastlines, coniferous and temperate forests, tropical rain forests, the polar regions, and related topics.

Cover Art
The Map That Changed the World - Simon Winchester
Call Number: 550 SMI
ISBN: 0061767905
Publication Date: 2009-04-28
Tells the story of William Smith, the eighteenth-century Englishman known as the father of modern geology, discussing his discovery of distinct layers of rock in the Earth, his publication of a map that displayed his findings, and his long road to attaining the recognition he deserved.

Cover Art
Earth - Susanna Van Rose; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 550 Van
ISBN: 9780756610708
Publication Date: 2005-04-11
Explores the secrets of the earth, and discusses questions such as what is at the center of the earth, why the sea is salty, how the atmosphere was created, and what the ocean floor looks like.

Cover Art
3-D Earth - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 550 WOO
ISBN: 9780756690205
Publication Date: 2012-03-19
Interactive 3-D animations bring this fact-packed book to life to show you planet Earth in all its glory; watch the birth of a twisting tornado, see how glaciers sculpt our planet, and witness ancient landmasses colliding to create the continents we know today.

Cover Art
One Million Things - John Woodward; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 550 WOO
ISBN: 9780756652357
Publication Date: 2009-08-17
Contains photographs and information about a variety of Earth-related topics, including the solar system, earthquakes, rocks, water, weather, life, humans, and more.

Cover Art
The Last River - Stuart Waldman; Gregory Manchess (Illustrator)
Call Number: 550.92 Pow
ISBN: 1931414092
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Learn about the famous explorer and his adventures.

Cover Art
Smithsonian Violent Earth - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 551 DIN
ISBN: 0756686857
Publication Date: 2011-10-03
Describes the forces that constantly shape and influence the shape of the planet, covering plate tectonics, vulcanology, and seismology, examining sites of geological activity, and discussing famous events from the historic eruptions of Laki, Iceland, to the devastating earthquake in Haiti in 2010.

Cover Art
Evolving Planet - Erica Kelly; Richard Kissel
Call Number: 551 KEL
ISBN: 9780810994867
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Provides an overview of the Earth's diversity of life both on land and in the sea, discussing mass extinctions and how they have shaped the history of the planet.

Cover Art
Guide to Global Hazards - Robert Kovach; Bill McGuire
Call Number: 551 Kov
ISBN: 155297815X
Publication Date: 2004-02-07

Cover Art
Earth - Iain Steward; John Lynch
Call Number: 551 Ste
ISBN: 9781426202360
Publication Date: 2008-04-29
An illustrated guide to the history of the Earth that explores how forces from above and within have shaped the planet, examines how recent changes have come about due to human actions, and explains how those actions may lead to the planet's eventual destruction.

Cover Art
Processes That Shape the Earth - David Thompson; David G. Haase (Contribution by)
Call Number: 551 THO
ISBN: 9780791089323
Publication Date: 2007-08-01
Describes some of the forces that shape the physical geography of the Earth, including glaciers, wind, water, and others, and discusses the theory of plate tectonics, the rock cycle, and the origin and history of the planet.

Cover Art
Plate Tectonics - Stephen M. Tomecek
Call Number: 551.1 TOM
ISBN: 9781604130140
Publication Date: 2009-05-01
Provides an introduction to plate tectonics, traces the development of the theory of plate tectonics, and looks at the lives and achievements of the scientists who discovered and promoted the idea.

Cover Art
DK Guide to Savage Earth - Trevor Day; Jayne Parsons (Editor)
Call Number: 551.2 Day
ISBN: 0789479192
Publication Date: 2001-10-03

Cover Art
Geysers - Roy A. Gallant
Call Number: 551.2 Gal
ISBN: 9780531202883
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
Discusses various aspects of geysers including their formation, location, anatomy, use by humans, and possible extinction.

Cover Art
Volcanoes - David Giraudon (Illustrator); Robert Burleigh; Philippe Bourseiller (Photographer)
Call Number: 551.21 Bou
ISBN: 0810945908
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
Over thirty photographs and accompanying text reveal the facts about the world's volcanoes.

Cover Art
Eyewitness Volcano and Earthquake - Susanna van Rose
Call Number: 551.21 Van
ISBN: 9780756637804
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Photographs and text explain the causes and effects of volcanoes and earthquakes and examine specific occurrences throughout history. Includes a CD with clip art and a poster.

Cover Art
The Day the World Exploded - Simon Winchester; Jason Chin (Illustrator); Dwight Jon Zimmerman (Adapted by)
Call Number: 551.21 Win
ISBN: 9780061239823
Publication Date: 2008-05-06
Presents an illustrated account of the volcano eruption on the island of Krakatoa on August 27, 1883, and its aftermath.

Cover Art
Krakatoa - Simon Winchester
Call Number: 551.21095982 Win
ISBN: 0066212855
Publication Date: 2003-04-01
In August 1883, a catastrophic volcanic eruption off the coast of Java was followed by a tsunami that killed nearly 40,000 people. The author brings new perspective to this iconic event, showing how it marked a change in East-West relations.

Cover Art
Snowstruck - Jill Fredston
Call Number: 551.3 Fre
ISBN: 9780156032544
Publication Date: 2007-01-08
The author describes how she and her husband teach those who enjoy skiing, hiking, or driving snow machines in avalanche-prone areas how to read the snow and pick routes carefully in order to minimize the risks of being caught in an avalanche.

Cover Art
Mountains from Space - Stefan Dech; Rudiger Glasser; Reinhold Messner; Ralf-Peter Martin
Call Number: 551.43 MOU
ISBN: 0810959615
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Full-color illustrated photographs of mountain peaks and ranges on all seven continents using advanced digital satellite imaging taken several miles above the surface of the Earth, and offers information on their geological formations and origins.

Cover Art
Over the Coasts - Michael Collier (Photographer)
Call Number: 551.45 COL
ISBN: 9781931414425
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Contains captioned aerial photographs of the coastlines of the United States, and includes information about wind, waves, tides, and weather affect the geologic features of these landscapes.

Cover Art
Tracking Trash - Loree Griffin Burns
Call Number: 551.46 BUR
ISBN: 9780618581313
Publication Date: 2007-03-26
Describes the work of a man who tracks trash as it travels great distances by way of ocean currents.

Cover Art
The Sea Around Us - Rachel Louise Carson; Ann Zwinger (Introduction by); Jeffrey S. Levinton
Call Number: 551.46 Car
ISBN: 0195069978
Publication Date: 1991-12-12
Reveals the science and poetry of the sea from its primeval beginnings to the discoveries of the 1950s, with a new chapter that discusses the latest advancements in marine biology.

Cover Art
Flotsametrics and the Floating World - Curtis Ebbesmeyer; Eric Scigliano
Call Number: 551.46 EBB
ISBN: 0061558427
Publication Date: 2010-06-22
Curtis Ebbesmeyer, an oceanographer, describes his scientific pursuits to understand the ocean's currents by following flotsam from the water to the shore.

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of the Sea - Richard Ellis
Call Number: 551.46 Ell
ISBN: 0375403744
Publication Date: 2000-10-17
Contains alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about a range of aquatic life and lore, covering fish, islands, seabirds, marine geography, explorers, and other topics.

Cover Art
Ocean Science - Jennifer Hoffman
Call Number: 551.46 Hof
ISBN: 0060891394
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Covers all aspects of ocean science and the ocean environment: biological, chemical, geological, and physical.

Cover Art
Moby-Duck - Donovan Hohn
Call Number: 551.46 HOH
ISBN: 0143120506
Publication Date: 2012-02-28
Journalist Donovan Hohn chronicles his quest to learn about the mysterious loss of 28,800 of bath toys at sea, discussing the discoveries he made during his conversations with environmentalists, experts in oceanography, and various other individuals.

Cover Art
Oceans - Stephen Hutchinson; Lawrence E. Hawkins
Call Number: 551.46 Hut
ISBN: 1554070694
Publication Date: 2005-09-03
A collection of photographs that captures the beauty of the world's oceans and the many creatures that can be found in them.

Cover Art
Ocean - Eyewitness - Miranda MacQuitty
Call Number: 551.46 Mac
ISBN: 9780756637767
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
A photo essay introducing ocean creatures, featuring the manta ray, dophin, octupus, and others, and explains their physical structures and how they work. Includes a CD-ROM with clip art.

Cover Art
Ocean - Robert Dinwiddie; Louise Thomas; Fabien Cousteau (Foreword by)
Call Number: 551.46 Oce
ISBN: 9780756622053
Publication Date: 2006-10-16
A heavily illustrated overview of the oceans that describes ocean environments, geology, circulation, and climate and profiles hundreds of ocean-living animal and plant species.

Cover Art
The Oceans - Ellen J. Prager; Sylvia A. Earle
Call Number: 551.46 Pra
ISBN: 0071352538
Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Provides an overview of what scientists understand of the oceans, and presents a case for the need of a greater knowledge of the Earth's seas.

Cover Art
Oceans - Dorrik Stow
Call Number: 551.46 Sto
ISBN: 0226776646
Publication Date: 2006-04-21
Presents an illustrated introduction to oceans, discussing its undersea landscape and its plant and animal life.

Cover Art
Weather - Bruce Buckley; Edward J. Hopkins; Richard Whitaker
Call Number: 551.5 Buc
ISBN: 1552979571
Publication Date: 2004-08-07

Cover Art
Eyewitness Weather - Brian Cosgrove; Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 551.5 Cos
ISBN: 9780756630065
Publication Date: 2007-06-25
"Discover the world's weather--from heat waves and droughts to blizzards and floods"--Cover. Includes discussion of why the climate may change in the future.

Cover Art
An Ocean of Air - Gabrielle Walker
Call Number: 551.509 Wal
ISBN: 9780151011247
Publication Date: 2007-08-06
Chronicles the lives and works of various scientists who have uncovered the secrets of the earth's atmosphere.

Cover Art
Thin Ice - Mark Bowen
Call Number: 551.51 Bow
ISBN: 9780805081350
Publication Date: 2006-10-03

Cover Art
Tornado Alley - Howard B. Bluestein
Call Number: 551.55 BLU
ISBN: 0195307119
Publication Date: 2006-06-15
Describes, both photographically and scientifically, tornadoes and related severe-storm phenomena, and presents a historical account of research done in the last half of the twentieth century aimed at discovering the characteristics of tornadoes and why they form.

Cover Art
Hurricane and Tornado - Eyewitness - Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff (Editor); Jack Challoner
Call Number: 551.55 Cha
ISBN: 075660690X
Publication Date: 2004-08-09
Describes dangerous and destructive weather conditions around the world, such as thunderstorms, tornadoes, hurricanes, lightning, hail, and drought with photographs, historical background, and legends.

Cover Art
Extreme Weather - H. Michael Mogil
Call Number: 551.55 Mog
ISBN: 9781579127435
Publication Date: 2007-11-13
Examines the science behind the world's most extreme natural events; and addresses questions concerning the relationship between the changing environment and extreme weather, where deadly tornadoes are most likely to occur, and conventional beliefs on global warming.

Cover Art
Big Weather - Mark Svenvold
Call Number: 551.55 Sve
ISBN: 9780805080148
Publication Date: 2006-05-02
The author profiles real tornadoes and severe weather patterns over six thousand miles of Oklahoma, Kansas, and Nebraska, known as Tornado Alley.

Cover Art
The Snowflake - Kenneth George Libbrecht; Patricia Rasmussen (Photographer, Translator)
Call Number: 551.57 Lib
ISBN: 0896586308
Publication Date: 2003-11-17
Chronicles the creation of snow crystals and attempts to explain why no two snowflakes are alike; includes micro-photographs which capture the beauty and complexity of snowflakes.

Cover Art
The Long Summer - Brian M. Fagan
Call Number: 551.6 Fag
ISBN: 0465022820
Publication Date: 2004-12-29
Explores the role of climatic change in transforming human societies over the course of the past 15,000 years.

Cover Art
Six Degrees - Mark Lynas
Call Number: 551.6 Lyn
ISBN: 9781426202131
Publication Date: 2008-01-22
Contains case studies that provide science-based speculations on what might occur on Earth as the global average temperature increases--as projected--by six degrees.

Cover Art
With Speed and Violence - Fred Pearce
Call Number: 551.6 Pea
ISBN: 9780807085769
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
The author examines the history of the earth's climate changes and the consequences of increased global warming, and maintains that continued human interference could cause irreversible changes that could threaten the habitability of the earth.

Cover Art
Snowball Earth - Gabrielle Walker
Call Number: 551.6 Wal
ISBN: 1400051258
Publication Date: 2004-02-24
Tells the story of scientist Paul Hoffman's attempts to prove his theory that the Earth experienced a climatic catastrophe 700 million years ago that left the planet completely frozen over, an event that triggered the Cambrian Explosion in complex life forms.

Cover Art
Eyewitness Climate Change - John Woodward (Contribution by); Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: 551.6 Woo
ISBN: 9780756637712
Publication Date: 2008-06-30
Presents a visual overview of global warming, covering the many causes and consequences, and includes information on the greenhouse effect, fossil fuels, melting ice, nuclear power, carbon footprints, and future predictions.

Cover Art
Weather Whys - Paul Yeager
Call Number: 551.6 YEA
ISBN: 9780399535703
Publication Date: 2010-03-02
Explores myths and misconceptions about the weather and provides facts on weird weather-related phenomena.

Cover Art
The Little Ice Age - Brian M. Fagan
Call Number: 551.694 Fag
ISBN: 9780465022724
Publication Date: 2001-12-27
Discusses the climatic shifts that characterized the Little Ice Age, a climate event that lasted from 1300 to 1850, and examines the extent to which these weather changes affected the course of European history.

Cover Art
Reading the Rocks - Marcia Bjornerud
Call Number: 551.7 Bjo
ISBN: 081334249X
Publication Date: 2005-04-26
The author presents a comprehensive survey of the geological history of the earth, and describes the growth of the planet and the changes that have occurred over time.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip