This is the "Home" page of the "American History" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

American History  

Last Updated: Feb 18, 2015 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/content.php?pid=658715 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 
 

Books in the collection

Cover Art
The American Idea - Robert Vare (Editor); Daniel B. Smith (Editor)
Call Number: 973 Ame
ISBN: 9780385521086
Publication Date: 2007-10-16
A comprehensive collection of writings published in "The Atlantic Monthly" over a 150-year period by a number of America's prominent political commentators, journalists, historians, storytellers, and poets.

Cover Art
The Great American History Fact-Finder - Ted Yanak; Pamela Cornelison; Pam Cornelison
Call Number: 973 Cor
ISBN: 0618439412
Publication Date: 2004-08-27
Contains 2,200 alphabetically arranged entries that provide information about significant events in American history and culture, covering politics, sports, the arts, the military, entertainment, law, and business.

Cover Art
The American Soul - Jacob Needleman
Call Number: 973 Nee
ISBN: 1585422266
Publication Date: 2003-06-02
Explores the timeless truths hidden within the founding vision of the American nation and discusses how people can find comfort in the vision in difficult times.

Cover Art
Listening Is an Act of Love - Dave Isay
Call Number: 973.92 Lis
ISBN: 9781594201400
Publication Date: 2007-11-08
Draws on thousands of interviews collected by the StoryCorps oral history project to explore the experiences of Americans from all walks of life and all ages and identify the emotions and experiences that define people from all backgrounds.

Cover Art
Freedom from Fear - David M. Kennedy
Call Number: 973.91 Ken
ISBN: 0195144031
Publication Date: 2001-04-19
Studies the effects of the Great Depression and World War II on American society, discussing the economic crisis of the 1930s, the effect of the Depression on cities and rural communities, and the social and economic reforms brought about by the New Deal; and argues that the country was saved by entering the war.

Cover Art
The Americans - Daniel J. Boorstin
Call Number: 973 Boo
ISBN: 9780394703589
Publication Date: 1967-02-12
Explores the changes in American identity between the time of national independence and unity to sectional division, with discussion of how unique growth patterns emerged and influenced American institutions.

Cover Art
The Hemingses of Monticello - Annette Gordon-Reed
Call Number: 973.4 Gor
ISBN: 9780393337761
Publication Date: 2009-09-08
Discusses the story of the Hemingses, an American slave family that had blood ties to Thomas Jefferson, who had an intimate relationship with Sally Hemings, his slave, and covers how the family of Elizabeth Hemings and John Wayles came under ownership to Jefferson through his marriage to Martha Wayles.

Cover Art
The Jamestown Project - Karen Ordahl Kupperman
Call Number: 973.2 KUP
ISBN: 9780674030565
Publication Date: 2009-02-28
Describes the history of the Jamestown settlement, its first difficult years, dependence upon local natives, and its eventual influence on later colonial settlements.

Cover Art
Massacre at Fort William Henry - David R. Starbuck
Call Number: 973.2 Sta
ISBN: 1584651660
Publication Date: 2002-02-01
Draws from archaeological findings to debunk myths about the Fort William Henry "massacre" of 1757--featured in James Fenimore Cooper's "The Last of the Mohicans"--interpreting tool and weapon artifacts left by the Native Americans, the French, and the British.

Cover Art
Jamestown 1607 - Michael L. Cooper
Call Number: 973.2 Coo
ISBN: 9780823419487
Publication Date: 2007-03-01
Discusses the founding of the Jamestown colony in Virginia in 1607, and looks at how the English colonists weathered disease, starvation, winter storms, and Native American attacks to survive and thrive under the leadership of Captain John Smith.

Cover Art
Anne Hutchinson - Darlene R. Stille (Illustrator)
Call Number: 973.2 Hut
ISBN: 9780756515775
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
A biography of seventeenth-century Puritan Anne Hutchinson who was placed on trial and exiled from Massachusetts for openly opposing a number of Puritan beliefs.

Cover Art
Despite All Obstacles - Joan Elizabeth Goodman; Tom McNeely (Illustrator)
Call Number: 973.2 La
ISBN: 1931414017
Publication Date: 2001-10-06
A biography of the man who explored the St. Lawrence, Ohio, Illinois, and Mississippi rivers, and who claimed America's heartland for King Louis XIV and France.

Cover Art
The Eve of Revolution - Barbara Burt
Call Number: 973.3 Bur
ISBN: 079225211X
Publication Date: 2003-07-01
Describes Britain's American colonies in the year 1769. Includes some fictional material in the form of diary entries by Benjamin Wilcox.

Cover Art
Founding Mothers - Cokie Roberts
Call Number: 973.3 Rob
ISBN: 0060090251
Publication Date: 2004-04-13
Profiles the women whose bravery, convictions, and patriotism impacted the formation of the United States, focusing on the contributions of the wives, mothers, sisters, and daughters of the country's founding fathers.

Cover Art
Hero of the High Seas - Michael L. Cooper
Call Number: 973.3 Jon
ISBN: 9780792255482
Publication Date: 2006-09-12
Presents a biography of John Paul Jones, the great naval hero of the American Revolution.

Cover Art
The American Revolution - John Grafton
Call Number: 973.3 GRA
ISBN: 0486232263
Publication Date: 1975-06-01
Contains over 400 copyright-free graphics of the American Revolution, chosen from contemporary sources and material from the last two hundred years.

Cover Art
Benjamin Franklin and Electricity - Gail Blasser Riley
Call Number: 973.3 Ril
ISBN: 0516242407
Publication Date: 2004-09-01
Presents a short children's biography of Benjamin Franklin, his early years in Massachusetts, apprenticeship in a print shop, and later years as a statesman, diplomat, and inventor.

Cover Art
Paul Revere's Ride - David Hackett Fischer
Call Number: 973.3 Fis
ISBN: 0195098315
Publication Date: 1995-04-19
What led to Paul Revere's ride, what happened on it, and what followed, focusing on British General, Thomas Gage.

Cover Art
Bushnell's Submarine - Arthur S. Lefkowitz
Call Number: 973.3 Lef
ISBN: 9780439743525
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
The story of how David Bushnell built the "Turtle," the world's first submarine, for use against British ships during the American Revolutionary War.

Cover Art
Washington's Crossing - David Hackett Fischer
Call Number: 973.3 Fis
ISBN: 9780195170344
Publication Date: 2004-02-12
Chronicles the events of December 25, 1776 through January 3, 1777, when George Washington led American troops across the Delaware River and launched an attack on the British Army that marked a turning point in the battle for independence.

Cover Art
The American Revolution - John H. Rhodehamel (Editor)
Call Number: 973.3 Ame
ISBN: 1883011914
Publication Date: 2001-04-01
More than 120 writings by Revolutionary War participants from all perspectives--Continental, British, American Loyalist, and civilian--chronicle the Revolution from Paul Revere's ride to George Washington's resignation from command of the Continental Army. Also includes biographical sketches, a chronology, and explanatory notes.

Cover Art
Samuel Adams - Dennis Brindell Fradin
Call Number: 973.3 Ada
ISBN: 0395825105
Publication Date: 1998-04-20
Presents the life and accomplishments of the colonist and patriot who was involved in virtually every major event that resulted in the birth of the United States.

Cover Art
Remember Valley Forge - Thomas B. Allen
Call Number: 973.3 All
ISBN: 9781426301490
Publication Date: 2007-10-09
Combines letters, journal entries, reports, photographs, and maps to examine the Battle of Valley Forge from multiple perspectives; including a teenage soldier, a doctor, a farmer, and a spy.

Cover Art
Everybody's Revolution - Thomas Fleming
Call Number: 973.3 Fle
ISBN: 0439634040
Publication Date: 2006-09-01
Explores the variety of people who participated in the Revolutionary War, including immigrants from all over the world, African-Americans, Native Americans, and women.

Cover Art
Ethan Allen and the Green Mountain Boys - R. Conrad Stein
Call Number: 973.3 All
ISBN: 0516242067
Publication Date: 2003-03-01
Discusses the facts and tall tales about Revolutionary War hero Ethan Allen, who, along with Benedict Arnold, led the Green Mountain Boys in capturing Fort Ticonderoga from the British in 1775.

Cover Art
Ethan Allen - Brenda Haugen; Andrew Santella
Call Number: 973.3 All
ISBN: 075650824X
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Presents a biography of Ethan Allen, a patriot and soldier of the Revolutionary War, and explains his contribution, along with Colonel Benedict Arnold, in defeating the British at Fort Ticonderoga. Includes time line, glossary, and index.

Cover Art
The Many Rides of Paul Revere - James Cross Giblin
Call Number: 973.3 Rev
ISBN: 9780439572903
Publication Date: 2007-10-01
Chronicles Paul Revere's life, describing his childhood as the son of a French immigrant, his work as a silversmith, and his roles in the American Revolution.

Cover Art
The Surrender at Yorktown - Melissa Whitcraft
Call Number: 973.3 Whi
ISBN: 0516242342
Publication Date: 2004-03-01
Details events that led to the Declaration of Independence and Revolutionary War, looks at major battles including the Battle of Yorktown, and reviews the formation of a United States government.

Cover Art
The Swamp Fox of the Revolution - Stewart H. Holbrook
Call Number: 973.3 Mar
ISBN: 9781402757037
Publication Date: 2008-04-01
A biography of Francis Marion, the American general who organized a guerrilla band to fight the British in South Carolina during the Revolution.

Cover Art
Mercy Otis Warren - Jennifer Blizin Gillis
Call Number: 973.3 War
ISBN: 0756509823
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Presents a biography of Mercy Otis Warren, historian, colonial patriot, and author of the fist American history book published by a woman, providing information on her youth, her family life, and her achievements.

Cover Art
The Real Benedict Arnold - Jim Murphy
Call Number: 973.3 Arn
ISBN: 9780395776094
Publication Date: 2007-09-17
Presents a comprehensive biography and history of Benedict Arnold that examines many of his heroic deeds and contributions to the Revolutionary cause before he decided to switch sides.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip