This is the "Home" page of the "Chemistry" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Chemistry  

Last Updated: Feb 2, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/chemistry Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books on Chemistry in the Library

Cover Art
The Curies - Denis Brian
Call Number: 540 BRI
ISBN: 9780471273912
Publication Date: 2005-08-28
Traces the history of the Curie family, revealing the scandals, drama, controversy, and tragedy that surrounding the world's most gifted scientific family.

Cover Art
The Joy of Chemistry - Cathy Cobb; Monty L. Fetterolf
Call Number: 540 Cob
ISBN: 1591022312
Publication Date: 2005-02-01
The authors illustrate the fundamental concepts of chemistry through everyday experiences using familiar materials and nontechnical language.

Cover Art
Facts on File Dictionary of Chemistry - John Daintith
Call Number: 540 Fac
ISBN: 9780816056491
Publication Date: 2005-05-01
Contains over three thousand alphabetized, cross-referenced entries on topics in chemistry, and includes sixty line drawings and a bibliography.

Cover Art
The Cartoon Guide to Chemistry - Larry Gonick; Craig Criddle
Call Number: 540 GON
ISBN: 9780060936778
Publication Date: 2005-05-03
Presents a collection of humorous illustrations that explains the history and basics of chemistry, atomic theory, combustion, and other chemistry-related topics.

Cover Art
The Alchemy of Air - Thomas Hager
Call Number: 540 HAG
ISBN: 0307351793
Publication Date: 2009-08-18
Tells the story of controversial scientists Fritz Haber and Carl Bosch, who are credited with saving millions of lives while being responsible for the creation of the modern chemical industry.

Cover Art
Science 101 - Denise Kiernan; Joseph D'Agnese
Call Number: 540 Kie
ISBN: 0060891386
Publication Date: 2007-06-26
Presents fundamental facts and concepts from all branches of organic and inorganic chemistry.

Cover Art
Napoleon's Buttons - Penny Le Couteur; Jay Burreson
Call Number: 540 Le
ISBN: 9781585423316
Publication Date: 2004-05-24
Examines the roles that the molecular properties of such items as the birth control pill, caffeine, and the buttons on the uniforms of Napoleon's army have played in the course of history.

Cover Art
The Basics of Chemistry - Richard L. Myers
Call Number: 540 MYE
ISBN: 9780313361340
Publication Date: 2000-09-01
An introduction to chemistry that offers an overview of the field's main theories, topics, and ideas, its history, and key figures.

Cover Art
Chemistry - Ann Newmark
Call Number: 540 New
ISBN: 9780756613945
Publication Date: 2005-09-05
Explores the world of natural chemistry, how it is used on a daily basis to produce food and water, to check for infections and diseases, and to help in forensics; and contains full-color captioned photographs and text that explains such topics as chemical reactions, the periodic table, atoms and molecules, and more.

Cover Art
Radioactive - Lauren Redniss
Call Number: 540 RED
ISBN: 9780061351327
Publication Date: 2010-12-21
Examines the professional and private lives of Marie and Pierre Curie, discussing their personal struggles, the contributions they made to science, and the issue of radiation in the modern world.

Cover Art
The Philosopher's Stone - Joseph P. Farrell
Call Number: 540.1 FAR
ISBN: 1932595406
Publication Date: 2009-04-01
Examines the connections between physics and ancient alchemy, explaining alchemy's view of an information-creating physical medium and demonstrating how this idea can be linked to high-spin rotation and the unusual properties of the matter it creates.

Cover Art
Something Out of Nothing - Carla Killough McClafferty
Call Number: 540.92 C
ISBN: 9780374380366
Publication Date: 2006-03-21
Chronicles the life of Marie Curie, discussing her childhood in Poland, schooling in France, discovery of the element radium, efforts to create mobile X-ray units during World War I, and eventual death from radium poisoning.

Cover Art
Panning for Gold - Paul Mason
Call Number: 541 Mas
ISBN: 9781410928481
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Investigates the science concept of mixtures and solutions through an account of the California gold rush in the mid-1800s, and features facts about the discovery of gold and the lives of prospectors. Includes a glossary.

Cover Art
Material Changes and Reactions - Chris Oxlade
Call Number: 541 Oxl
ISBN: 9781432900533
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Looks at material changes and reactions that occur in everyday life, covering changes of state, chemical reactions, rock cycle and changes, solutions, and other topics, and includes related experiments.

Cover Art
From Gunpowder to Laser Chemistry - Andrew Solway
Call Number: 541 Sol
ISBN: 9781403495525
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Explains the story of chemical reactions from gunpowder to laser chemistry, and profiles leading scientists in the field of chemistry.

Cover Art
Chemical Change - Darlene R. Stille; Farhana Hossain (Illustrator)
Call Number: 541 Sti
ISBN: 0756512565
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Presents a short study of chemical change and includes facts on how the human body changes food into energy, how rust eats away metal, what makes fireworks, and more.

Cover Art
Magick, Mayhem, and Mavericks - Cathy Cobb
Call Number: 541.3 Cob
ISBN: 157392976X
Publication Date: 2002-11-01
Chronicles the history of physical chemistry, tracing the development of several scientific concepts and examining the people behind them, from the medieval days of "magick" to the modern study of nanotechnology.

Cover Art
The Periodic Table - Adrian Dingle; Simon Basher (Illustrator)
Call Number: 546 Din
ISBN: 9780753460856
Publication Date: 2007-06-12
Combines science and art to create a simple way for students to learn the periodic table.

Cover Art
The Elements - Theodore Gray (Photographer); Nicky Mann (Photographer)
Call Number: 546 GRA
ISBN: 9781579128142
Publication Date: 2009-10-01
Presents a photographic representation of the over 100 elements in the periodic table; and includes facts, figures, and stories of the elements, data on the properties of each, and the year and location in which it was discovered.

Cover Art
The Elements - Ron Miller
Call Number: 546 MIL
ISBN: 0761327940
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Discusses the history of the periodic table of the elements, includes biographies of major figures in the field of chemistry, and provides information on each element.

Cover Art
The Mystery of the Periodic Table - Benjamin Wiker; Jeanne Bendick (Illustrator)
Call Number: 546 WIK
ISBN: 188393771X
Publication Date: 2003-05-01
Presents an introduction to the periodic table of elements, chronicling its history through the different scientists that discovered different elements over time, and dispels myths and misunderstandings.

Cover Art
Fifty Minerals That Changed the Course of History - Eric Chaline
Call Number: 549.09 CHA
ISBN: 9781554079841
Publication Date: 2012-07-19
Fifty Minerals that Changed the Course of History is a beautifully presented guide to the minerals that have had the greatest impact on human civilization. These are the materials used from the Stone Age to the First and Second Industrial Revolutions to the Nuclear Age and include metals, ores, alloys, salts, rocks, sodium, mercury, steel and uranium. The book also includes minerals used as currency, as jewelry and as lay and religious ornamentation when combined with gem minerals like diamonds, amber, coral, and jade. Entries are organized by name and considered for their influence in four categories: Industrial, Cultural, Commercial and Scientific. More than 200 elegant drawings, photographs, paintings and excerpts from literature highlight the concise text.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip