This is the "Home" page of the "Capstone Project" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Capstone Project  

Last Updated: Feb 10, 2014 URL: http://jeromeparkercampus.libguides.com/capstone Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Human Rights

 

Books in the Library

Cover Art
Blue Covenant - Maude Barlow
Call Number: 333.91 Bar
ISBN: 9781595581860
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Offers a comprehensive analysis of the state of the world's water, revealing how the decline in the world's drinkable water supply can be linked to international water politics and large corporations profiting from declining supplies, and explores how people around the world are fighting to protect humans' right to pure water.

Cover Art
Growing up in Slavery - Yuval Taylor (Editor); Kathleen Judge (Illustrator)
Call Number: 305.5 Gro
ISBN: 9781556526350
Publication Date: 2007-02-01
Presents ten personal stories of slaves as they describe the hardships, beatings, and tortures of slavery, how some overcame those obstacles to learn to read and write, how they challenged authority, and escaped to freedom.

Cover Art
Will the World Run Out of Fresh Water? - Debra A. Miller (Editor)
Call Number: 363.6 WIL
ISBN: 9780737734034
Publication Date: 2007-05-18
Examines the dangers threatening the world's fresh water sources, speculating as to how long the water reserves will last and exploring what can be done to protect the reserves and help them last longer.

Cover Art
Water - Richard Spilsbury; Lousie Spilsbury
Call Number: 333.91 SPI
ISBN: 9781403482143
Publication Date: 2006-07-01
Examines how the demand for water is increasing with the growth of population, and describes the issues surrounding the use, supply, and conservation of water.

Cover Art
World Poverty - Rob Bowden
Call Number: 362.5 Bow
ISBN: 073986436X
Publication Date: 2003-01-01
A look at some of the historical causes of poverty, the effects of living in poverty, and what is being done to reduce poverty and its effects.

Cover Art
The Lexus and the Olive Tree - Thomas L. Friedman
Call Number: 337 Fri
ISBN: 0385499345
Publication Date: 2000-05-02
Explains how globalization is shaping world affairs, how it replaced the Cold War system, how it is creating a single global market, its influence on domestic policies, and other related topics.

Cover Art
Globalization - Adam Hibbert
Call Number: 337 Hib
ISBN: 9781410910714
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Describes factors that have led to globalization, including trade and technological progress, and the roles of the United Nations, IMF, World Bank, and World Trade Organization in the management of globalization, and discusses arguments regarding its fairness and its impact on people in developing countries.

Cover Art
The End of Poverty - Jeffrey D. Sachs; Bono (Foreword by)
Call Number: 339.4 Sac
ISBN: 9780143036586
Publication Date: 2006-02-28
The author shares what he has learned about global poverty through visits to more than one hundred countries, and presents his plan for ending extreme poverty around the world by the year 2025.

Cover Art
Engaging India - Strobe Talbott
Call Number: 327.73054 Tal
ISBN: 0815783000
Publication Date: 2004-08-05
The author examines the volatile U.S.-India relations between 1998 and 2000 after India exploded three nuclear devices under the Great Indian Desert that further divided that country and Pakistan and explores the diplomatic measures applied to help defuse the crisis.

Cover Art
Tribe - Piers Gibbon
Call Number: 305.8 GIB
ISBN: 9781554077427
Publication Date: 2010-09-16
Text and full-color photographs examine indigenous peoples from around the world, discussing cultures, beliefs, and social patterns.

Cover Art
Women of Courage - Katherine Kiviat; Scott Heidler
Call Number: 305.48 KIV
ISBN: 9781423602538
Publication Date: 2007-08-08

Cover Art
Speak Truth to Power - Nan Richardson (Editor); Eddie Adams (Photographer); Kerry Kennedy
Call Number: 323 Cuo
ISBN: 1884167330
Publication Date: 2000-01-01
Introduces fifty human rights activists from around the world who tell their stories and includes black-and-white portraits.

Cover Art
Blue Covenant - Maude Barlow
Call Number: 333.91 Bar
ISBN: 9781595581860
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
Offers a comprehensive analysis of the state of the world's water, revealing how the decline in the world's drinkable water supply can be linked to international water politics and large corporations profiting from declining supplies, and explores how people around the world are fighting to protect humans' right to pure water.

Cover Art
The Guilt of Nations - Elazar Barkan
Call Number: 341.6 Bar
ISBN: 0393048861
Publication Date: 2000-05-17
Explores how nations and aggrieved parties make amends for wrongdoings and disucsses how the growing practice of making restitution restores a sense of morality and enhances prospects for world peace.

Cover Art
The War on Terror - Paul Ruschmann; Alan Marzilli (Contribution by)
Call Number: 363.325 RUS
ISBN: 9780791098349
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Contains essays that provide opposing opinions on issues related to the U.S. government's approach to fighting international terrorism.

Cover Art
Mountains Beyond Mountains - Tracy Kidder
Call Number: 610 Kid
ISBN: 9780812973013
Publication Date: 2004-08-31
Chronicles the life of Paul Farmer, focusing on his efforts to diagnose and cure infectious diseases and to bring modern medicine to the countries and people who need them most.

Cover Art
King Leopold's Ghost - Adam Hochschild
Call Number: 967.51 Hoc
ISBN: 0618001905
Publication Date: 1999-09-03

Cover Art
Human Rights - Carol R. Hansen; Ralph Wilde; Carol Devine; Hilary Poole
Call Number: REF 323 HUM
ISBN: 157356205X
Publication Date: 1999-06-11
Traces the evolution of the modern concept of human rights before the Universal Declaration of Human Rights of 1948; provides a comprehensive look at each article of the Declaration; examines post-1948 human rights movements, organizations, and activities; and includes essays on a variety of contemporary human rights issues.

Cover Art
Immigration and Migration - Rayna Bailey; Lorenzo A. Trujillo (Foreword by)
Call Number: 304.8 BAI
ISBN: 9780816071067
Publication Date: 2008-02-01
A study of immigration and migration, providing an overview of the issue, featuring case studies that look at the effects of immigration and migration on the U.S., France, South Africa, Mexico, and the Philippines,and including a selection of related primary source documents, and research tools, such as brief biographies, facts and figures, and an annotated bibliography.

Cover Art
Economic Migrants - Dave Dalton
Call Number: 304.8 Dal
ISBN: 1403469598
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Explores the various reasons for the economic migration of thousands of people from one place to another, why they are no longer able to make a living where they are, the effects of poverty, the lure of land, and more.

Cover Art
Environmental Migrants - Dave Dalton
Call Number: 304.8 Dal
ISBN: 1403469601
Publication Date: 2005-07-01
Explores the environmental reasons why some people migrate from one place to another, the effects of climate changes on environmental migration, and more.

Cover Art
Immigration - Tom Lansford
Call Number: 304.8 IMM
ISBN: 9780737741582
Publication Date: 2009-02-27
Presents a collection of essays that discuss a variety of points of view on the debate about immigration and illegal aliens.

Cover Art
The Devil's Highway - Luis Alberto Urrea
Call Number: 304.8 Urr
ISBN: 0316746711
Publication Date: 2004-04-02
Chronicles the true story of twenty-six men who attempted to cross the Mexican border into the southern Arizona desert known as the Devil's Highway, describing how the men struggled to survive the desert's harsh conditions and why only twelve survived the journey.

Cover Art
Enrique's Journey - Sonia Nazario
Call Number: 305.23089 Naz
ISBN: 9780812971781
Publication Date: 2007-01-02
Addresses the issues of family and illegal immigration through the story of a young boy's dangerous journey from Honduras to the U.S. in search of his mother, who left him and his sibling behind make a better life for her family.

Cover Art
Torn Between Two Cultures - Maryam Qudrat Aseel
Call Number: 305.48 Ase
ISBN: 1931868360
Publication Date: 2003-05-02
The author, born in the U.S. in 1974 to Afghan immigrants, describes her upbringing, her family's past, and her dual identity, and discusses relations between the U.S. and Afghanistan before and after the September 11 terrorist attacks.

Cover Art
Becoming Dr. Q - Alfredo Quinones-Hinojosa; Mim Eichler Rivas
Call Number: 617 Q
ISBN: 9780520271180
Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Tells the life story of Alfredo Quiñones-Hinojosa from impoverished childhood in a tiny village in Mexico to illegal immigrant, American citizen, student at the University of California, on to Harvard Medical School, and becoming an internationally renowned neurosurgeon.

Cover Art
What Matters - David Elliot Cohen; Western Arts Management Staff (Produced by)
Call Number: 909.83 WHA
ISBN: 9781402758348
Publication Date: 2008-09-02
Contains eighteen photoessays in which photojournalists investigate some of the most important issues confronting the world in the early twenty-first century, including climate change, AIDS, environmental degradation, and genocide, and includes commentary, resources, Web links, and suggestions on how to become involved.

Cover Art
On Gold Mountain - Lisa See
Call Number: 929.2 See
ISBN: 9780679768524
Publication Date: 1996-08-27
Chronicles the experiences of a Chinese-American family in California, beginning with the immigration of the author's great-great-grandfather in the late 1800s.

Cover Art
Funny in Farsi - Firoozeh Dumas
Call Number: 979.4 Dum
ISBN: 0812968379
Publication Date: 2004-01-13
Firoozeh Dumas recounts the experiences she had after her family moved from Iran to Southern California, discussing how her family adapted to life in America.

Cover Art
Child, Victim, Soldier - Donald H. Dunson
Call Number: 261.8 DUN
ISBN: 9781570757990
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
Discusses the stories of various children who were kidnapped by the Lord's Resistance Army, a rebel group in northern Uganda, trained to be killers, and forced to commit savage acts as soldiers.

Cover Art
Children of War - Deborah Ellis
Call Number: 305.23 ELL
ISBN: 9780888999078
Publication Date: 2009-02-17
Twenty Iraqi children discuss how the War on Terror has affected their lives.

Cover Art
Zoya's Story - Zoya; Rita Cristofari; John Follain
Call Number: 305.42 Zoy
ISBN: 0060097833
Publication Date: 2003-04-15
A young Afghani woman who grew up during the wars of the 1980s and 1990s and the rise of the Taliban describes the terror she has witnessed in her homeland and the work she has done to change other women's fates through the Revolutionary Association of the Women of Afghanistan (RAWA).

Cover Art
Journey of the Jihadist - Fawaz Gerges; Fawaz A. Gerges
Call Number: 322.4 Ger
ISBN: 9780151012138
Publication Date: 2006-05-08
Explains why it is important for the Western world to understand who the jihadists are and what their mission is, and to realize that not all jihadists use violence and terrorism as a way spread their message.

Cover Art
Biological, Nuclear, and Chemical Weapons - David Baker
Call Number: 363.32 BAK
ISBN: 9781595154897
Publication Date: 2005-08-01
Presents an introduction to weapons of mass destruction and how it relates to fighting terrorism, providing information on chemical, nuclear, and biological weapons technology.

Cover Art
The War on Terror - Paul Ruschmann; Alan Marzilli (Contribution by)
Call Number: 363.325 RUS
ISBN: 9780791098349
Publication Date: 2008-10-01
Contains essays that provide opposing opinions on issues related to the U.S. government's approach to fighting international terrorism.

Cover Art
Global Terrorism - Leonard Weinberg
Call Number: 363.325 WEI
ISBN: 9781851686087
Publication Date: 2008-08-01
An introduction to global terrorism that provides a history or terrorism; examines who terrorists are, where they come from, their purpose, and reactions to them; and discusses other related topics.

Cover Art
The Northern Ireland Conflict - Cillian McGrattan; Aaron Edwards
Call Number: 941.6082 EDW
ISBN: 9781851687299
Publication Date: 2010-06-01
Explores the history of the Northern Ireland conflict--also known as The Troubles--and the impact of sectarian violence, community relations programs, and international intervention since the partitioning of the country in 1920.

Cover Art
Iran - Sudipta Bardhan-Quallen
Call Number: 955 Bar
ISBN: 1410305333
Publication Date: 2005-04-01
Presents a short study of the history, people, and culture of Iran, and discusses political and military turmoil over the centuries, important leaders of Iran, and Iran's role in the area of global terrorism.

Cover Art
The War in Iraq - Tom Lansford
Call Number: 956.7044 WAR
ISBN: 9780737741629
Publication Date: 2009-03-01
Contains twenty-one essays that offer varying perspectives on issues related to the War in Iraq, and covers international relations, the Arab-Israeli conflict, international terrorism, and democracy.

Cover Art
Sudan - Christopher Hughes
Call Number: 962.4 Hug
ISBN: 1410305538
Publication Date: 2005-09-01
Describes the history of the Sudan and its political and social turmoil including civil war, famine and drought, genocide, and terrorism.

Cover Art
God Grew Tired of Us - John Bul Dau; Michael S. Sweeney
Call Number: 962.404 Dau
ISBN: 1426201141
Publication Date: 2007-01-16
Presents a first-person account of the terror, suffering, and tragedy of the Sudanese Civil War and how the author, John Bul Dau, eventually made his way out of the country to America.

Cover Art
Stolen Voices - Zlata Filipovic (Editor); Melanie Challenger (Editor); Olara A. Otunnu (Foreword by)
Call Number: 302.2309 Sto
ISBN: 9780143038719
Publication Date: 2006-12-26
Presents fourteen journals written by adolescents coping with war from World War I to the war in Iraq, exposing the experiences of young people caught in the midst of war and the impact it has on their lives.

Cover Art
Propaganda in War and Peace - Simon Adams
Call Number: 303.3 Ada
ISBN: 1403476551
Publication Date: 2005-07-01

Cover Art
In Defense of Globalization - Jagdish N. Bhagwati
Call Number: 303.48 Bha
ISBN: 9780195330939
Publication Date: 2007-09-04

Cover Art
The World Is Flat - Thomas L. Friedman
Call Number: 303.48 Fri
ISBN: 9780374292782
Publication Date: 2007-08-07
Contains an overview of the global political and economic change since the turn of the twenty-first century, discussing the rapid developments in technologies that has allowed India and China to become part of a growing supply chain of manufacturing impacting global markets.

Cover Art
Murder on the Nile - J. Bowyer Bell
Call Number: 303.6 Bel
ISBN: 9781893554634
Publication Date: 2003-02-01

Cover Art
After Gandhi - Anne Sibley O'Brien (Illustrator); Perry Edmond O'Brien (Illustrator)
Call Number: 303.6 OBR
ISBN: 9781580891295
Publication Date: 2009-02-01
Profiles fifteen activists who were inspired by the life and work of Mohandas Gandhi to use nonviolent protest as a means of bringing about social change.

Cover Art
Paths to Peace - Jane Breskin Zalben
Call Number: 303.6 Zal
ISBN: 9780525477341
Publication Date: 2006-03-02
Presents a collection of sixteen brief profiles of people who have helped make the world a better place, including Martin Luther King Jr., Mahatma Gandhi, Eleanor Roosevelt, Cesar Chavez, and more.

Cover Art
Collapse - Jared Diamond
Call Number: 304.2 Dia
ISBN: 0670033375
Publication Date: 2004-12-29
Presents a comprehensive historical narrative that describes how and why ancient civilizations such as the Anasazi, Maya, and the Polynesian culture on Easter Island failed and fell into ruin and examines how lessons learned from the past can help in preserving the future.

Cover Art
Genocide - Sean Sheehan
Call Number: 304.6 She
ISBN: 9781410910707
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Dicusses genocide with information about the causes of genocide, arguments about genocide, and dealing with genocide.

Cover Art
Double Luck - Lu Chi Fa; Becky C. White; Becky White
Call Number: 304.8 Lu
ISBN: 0823415600
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Tells the story of the author's struggles after being orphaned at the age of three and how he held on to his dream of coming to the United States as he passed from one relative to another and was even sold to a Communist couple.

Cover Art
Making It Home - Beverly Naidoo (Introduction by)
Call Number: 305.23 Mak
ISBN: 0142404551
Publication Date: 2005-09-08
Presents a collection of first-hand accounts of children who have been forced to flee their war-torn homeland to become refugees, including stories from kids from Kosovo, Bosnia, Afghanistan, Iraq, Congo, and more.

Cover Art
Teens in Vietnam - Gregory Nicolai; Compass Point Books Staff
Call Number: 305.235 Nic
ISBN: 9780756520670
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Examines the experience of teens in Vietnam, looking at a typical day, what happens in school, family life, holidays, work, and entertainment. Includes photographs, a glossary, and a historical time line.

Cover Art
Windows into My World - Sarah Cortez (Editor); Virgil Suarez (Introduction by)
Call Number: 305.235 Win
ISBN: 9781558854826
Publication Date: 2007-05-01
A collection of over fifty short essays written by Latino youth in which they reflect on growing up in the United States.

Cover Art
Teens in Nepal - Nickie Yackley-Franken
Call Number: 305.235095496 Yac
ISBN: 9780756534110
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Examines the experience of teens in Nepal, looking at a typical day, what happens in school, family life, holidays, work, and entertainment. Includes photographs, a glossary, and a historical time line.

Cover Art
Teens in Turkey - Alexandra Lilly
Call Number: 305.23509561 Som
ISBN: 9780756534141
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Examines the experience of teens in Turkey, looking at a typical day, what happens in school, family life, holidays, work, and entertainment. Includes photographs, a glossary, and a historical time line.

Cover Art
Teens in Egypt - Barbara A. Somervill; Christopher Rose (Contribution by); Katie Van Sluys (Contribution by)
Call Number: 305.2350962 Som
ISBN: 9780756532949
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Photographs, maps, and diagrams describe the challenges, pastimes, and customs of teenagers who live in Egypt.

Cover Art
Teens in Ghana - Myra Weatherly
Call Number: 305.23509667 Wea
ISBN: 9780756534172
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Examines the experience of teens in Ghana, looking at a typical day, what happens in school, family life, holidays, work, and entertainment. Includes photographs, a glossary, and a historical time line.

Cover Art
Teens in Nigeria - Pamela Dell; Marida Hollos (Contribution by); Katie Van Sluys (Contribution by)
Call Number: 305.23509669 Del
ISBN: 9780756533069
Publication Date: 2007-07-01
Describes the school life, family life, the traditions and holidays, entertainment and recreation, and the daily routines of Nigerians and Nigerian teenagers living in Nigeria.

Cover Art
Teens in Brazil - Caryn Gracey Jones; Compass Point Books Staff
Call Number: 305.2350981 Jon
ISBN: 9780756524425
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Examines the experience of teens in Brazil, looking at a typical day, what happens in school, family life, holidays, work, and entertainment. Includes photographs,a glossary, and a historical time line.

Cover Art
Women in the Material World - Faith D'Aluisio; Peter Menzel; Naomi Wolf (Foreword by)
Call Number: 305.4 DAL
ISBN: 0871563983
Publication Date: 1996-08-20
Photographs and interviews reveal different aspects of the lives of women in twenty countries throughout the world.

Cover Art
In the Name of Honor - Mukhtar Mai; Nicholas D. Kristof (Foreword by); Linda Coverdale (Translator); Marie-Therese Cuny (As told to)
Call Number: 305.4 Mai
ISBN: 9781416532286
Publication Date: 2006-10-31
Mukhtar Mai chronicles the events surrounding her 2002 gang rape in the impoverished village of Meerwala and her decision to stand up to her attackers, describing how she overcame the fear she felt and how her actions influenced the feminist movement in Pakistan.

Cover Art
Price of Honor - Jan Goodwin
Call Number: 305.48 Goo
ISBN: 0452283779
Publication Date: 2002-12-31
Presents an inside look at Muslim society through interviews with women from ten Islamic countries in which they discuss the realities of their lives.

Cover Art
Lipstick Jihad - Azadeh Moaveni
Call Number: 305.48 MOA
ISBN: 9781586483784
Publication Date: 2006-03-28
The author examines her life as an American-born Iranian and the frustration and confusion of trying to live in both worlds, and describes her decision to move to Tehran as a journalist and the cultural, political, and social upheaval she encountered.

Cover Art
Kabul Beauty School - Deborah Rodriguez; Kristin Ohlson
Call Number: 305.48
ISBN: 9781400065592
Publication Date: 2007-04-10
Hairdresser Deborah Rodriguez details her experiences in post-Taliban Afghanistan, discussing the opening of her beauty school and recalls the personal stories of various women who overcame obstacles to obtain an education in cosmetology.

Cover Art
Voices of Resistance - Sarah Husain (Editor)
Call Number: 305.48 Voi
ISBN: 9781580051811
Publication Date: 2006-06-13
A collection of writings in which Muslim women writers, poets, and visual artists attempt to redefine the stereotypical depictions of Muslim women in Western discourse.

Cover Art
Material World - Peter Menzel; Charles C. Mann (Text by); Sierra Club Books Staff
Call Number: 306.85 MEN
ISBN: 9780871564375
Publication Date: 1994-10-11
A photo-journey through the homes and lives of 30 families, revealing culture and economic levels around the world.

Cover Art
I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced - Delphine Minoui; Nujood Ali
Call Number: 306.872 ALI
ISBN: 9780307589675
Publication Date: 2010-03-02
Ali Nujood, the first child bride in Yemen to win a divorce, tells the story of her experiences after her father arranged for her to be married in 2008 at the age of ten to a man three times her age, describes what happened when she sought out a judge in order to get a divorce, and discusses the impact of her actions on traditional Yemen culture and society.

Cover Art
A Day in the Life of an African Village - Avelyn Davidson
Call Number: 307.76 Dav
ISBN: 9780531177488
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Reviews the history of Africa, looks at life in some of the different villages and among various African peoples, and discusses the challenge of integrating traditions with change. Considers the question of whether wealthy countries should cancel Africa's debt.

Cover Art
State of the World 2007 - Worldwatch Institute Staff; Molly O'Meara Sheehan (Directed By); Linda Starke (Editor); Zoe Chafe (Contribution by)
Call Number: 307.76 Sta
ISBN: 9780393329230
Publication Date: 2007-01-17
Examines changes in the ways cities are managed, built, and lived in, focusing on how those changes could create healthier, more peaceful urban areas in the future.

Cover Art
Africa - David Downing
Call Number: 960.3 Dow
ISBN: 1410901831
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
Describes political, economic, religious, and other problems which plague the entire continent of Africa today, and their sources in European colonial rule in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries.

Subject Guide

Profile Image
Patricia Sarles, MA, MLS
Contact Info
Patricia Sarles, Librarian
Jerome Parker Campus Library
100 Essex Drive
Staten Island, New York 10314
718 370-6900 x1322
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip